Nonfiction, Fiction, and Stranger than Fiction

Hello!

Today’s 3 Books, 3 Blogs is a guest post from Angela over at You Are Awesome.  

I am heading down to London today for a damn fine cup of coffee at The Twin Peaks Festival.

I love all of these people (Angela and the blogs and bloggers she recommends)

Thanks to Angela, and enjoy!

*

Nonfiction, Fiction, and Stranger than Fiction
by Angela Noel

I love books. I love blogs. I love Lorna. Gin & Lemonade perfectly describes the tone of Lorna’s blog. Her Gin & Lemonade is the fusion of sweet picnics in sunshine with children, pets, and people whose names you’ll only remember if they’re wearing nametags, with the bite of hard liquor you know you shouldn’t love quite as much as you do. Thus, doing a 3 blogs, 3 books post for Lorna’s blog offers a unique opportunity to celebrate things I love. But, not be too over-the-top about it because, frankly, Lorna would hate that.

So, here’s what I’d like to share with you today.

I get a little obsessed with non-fiction every now and again. A dude at work, who I happen to think is a wonderful example of what’s going right with millennials, kept telling me that calories don’t matter. When donuts would appear in the cubicle next to me, I’d moan about my inability to resist them, and he would say, “But, Angela, calories don’t matter.” So I challenged him to a dual. No, I didn’t. But I did say something like, “Prove it.” And he handed me this book called The Calorie Myth by Jonathan Bailor.

I started reading it because I couldn’t wait to tell Danny (that’s my co-worker’s name) he’s full of it and this book was a terrible example of the worst kind of science. But, the more I read the more I thought, “Oh, crap. This stuff makes sense.” Cut to two weeks later and every minute of the day I’m telling people little vignettes I learned from the book, thoroughly annoying everyone. Now that might not sound like a ringing endorsement. But, if eating more overall food, and cutting down workout time to twenty minutes A WEEK appeals to you, this is one heck of a book. I don’t plan on becoming a Jonathon Bailor groupie or anything. But, I definitely got more out of it than I thought I would. Well-played, millennial. You win.

Aside from my forays into non-fiction fitness, I’ve also recently read The Chaperone by Laura Moriarty. It’s a bit older, published in 2012. But the themes play perfectly in today’s environment. A buttoned-up matron, Cora, takes a free-spirited but damaged teen to New York during the tumultuous Prohibition years. While there, Cora starts to see the world through a different lens. She’s exposed to people and things she didn’t know existed. As a result, she finds a way to navigate the judgment-ridden world she’s always known to champion a better way. Cora’s evolution is quiet, but profound. For fans of historical fiction, this one doesn’t disappoint.

Now back to non-fiction, this time a collection of essays. I wouldn’t have picked up this book a year ago. I would have been afraid to. I know that sounds dumb, but it’s true. Like Cora, I feared to have my world expanded. Many of us do.

Recently, I heard someone say reading diverse authors can be a radical act of empathy. When I picked up, It’s a Good Time for the Truth: Race in Minnesota edited by Sun Yung Shin, I didn’t know what to expect. Inside, I found the kind of eye-opening beauty one finds while travelling far from home. It’s uncomfortable. It’s sometimes heartbreaking. It’s real. The authors articulate experiences vastly different than my own. They do not blame, they do not rage. They are storytellers, telling their stories.

I met one of the authors in an accidental way. The final essay in the book is about the connection Native Americans have to not only the land, but also the food the land produces. Passionate about seeds, Diane Wilson writes about the alienation of the Dakota people through the simple act of forcing Native people to eat an American diet. Her words are both beautiful and compelling. At a recent conference I attended, I gushed about this essay I had read about seeds and the Native diet to a fellow attendee. I told the stately, white-haired woman I couldn’t remember the name of the author. Realizing the book was on sale at the conference, I asked her to hold on while I checked for the author’s name. When I returned to the conversation a moment later, it dawned on me: I’d been talking to the author. My cheeks reddened, but she smiled.

Even if you’re not from Minnesota, or even the US, this collection of essays is a worthy read.

Let’s talk about blogs now. Please note I love so many. Talking about only three is painful. So, I’m going with a theme: funny in my favorite kind of way.

Since I started on fitness, I think it’s only fair and right that I talk about Fatty McCupcakes. What I love about this girl is legion. She’s funny, fearless, and not afraid of the f-bomb. (Which I like reading, but don’t like writing. I know. I’m a little nerdy in that respect. Ah well, we all have our things.) I love cupcakes. I love reading about how much Katie loves her cupcakes. Basically, this girl doesn’t take life too seriously. And sometimes that’s exactly what I need to read.

Alice, from Lutheranliar Looks at Life, has lived. From the Midwest to the East Coast, she’s had a career, a family, and a whole lot of experiences I can barely begin to comprehend. Steve Martin? Check. A rubber chicken? Check. Naked boss? Check. Her posts brim with heart, and never fail to make me smile. She’s telling it like it is, as it happened, but manages to make truth much more hilarious than most fiction I’ve read. When some of us have bad days, we go home and have a glass of wine and whine about it. When Alice has a bad day, I imagine her laughing (and maybe drinking wine, too). More, please, Alice. You’re my kind of people.

And last but not least, I must recommend Traci York’s amazing journey with Lumpy and Leaky. Who can make a breast cancer concern funny? Traci can. Few things are as scary as cancer. Some people, understandably, would keep these kinds of life dramas private. But Traci decided the best way to deal with this kind of crap (and that’s what cancer is—total crap) with a decidedly candid and often hilarious series on her blog. I hate that she had all the worry and waiting, but I love that she showed a whole lot of other people like me, that fear multiplies in quiet places, but dissipates in the sun. It sounds like Traci’s going to be just fine. But the gift of her openness during times of crises will mean we could laugh and cheer (and worry) along with her. It’s these things that connect us—these human experiences.

Laughter through tears, is there anything better?

The answer to that question is, yes, or at least, maybe. There is one thing that might be better. I’ll set the scene for you: I’m sipping lemonade with a splash of gin on a summer’s day in the park when a very attractive person, running fast and in a beautiful well-coordinated workout outfit, trips on a tree root right in front of me, the person smiles sheepishly saying, “Let’s both forget that just happened.” And I raise my glass to him or her and say, “Cheers. Been there. Done that.” He or she keeps running. I keep sipping. The sun keeps shining. We both keep smiling.

That is all.

*

Connect with Angela:

22236379_10213863004510379_1969934937_n
Photo: Angela Noel

Blog

Facebook

Twitter

 

 

23 thoughts on “Nonfiction, Fiction, and Stranger than Fiction

  1. Thanks for posting my picks, (piece?) for 3 Books 3 Blogs! Writing this was more fun than 1) riding a lawn mower 2) eating a pizza with extra cheese or 3) swimming with dolphins. (I’ve never actually swam with dolphins but I’m certain it would be awesome.)
    I hope you enjoy your time in London!

    1. It really is something! All credit to Danny on practically forcing me to read it by making it sound more important than a donut. Though, full disclosure, Bailor definitely does not endorse donuts. *sigh*
      Thanks for reading, Hayley! 🙂

  2. Excellent blog picks! But now that I see you say donuts are not sanctioned in The Calorie Myth, I think I’m going to pass because then it doesn’t look too good for Skittles. LOL!

    1. I’m glad you like the blog picks! So hard to choose! I almost want to do a post for Lorna every couple of months, because there’s so many blogs I love for different reasons.

      Skittles would probably be against the recommendations of my new friend, Jonathon. But, he never says NEVER with any sweet treat. He just says, basically, stuff yourself filled with high-fiber, high nutrition foods and you’ll eat less Skittles (and in my case, donuts). I think that’s why I liked the book. It wasn’t prescriptive so much as it was a rational reprogramming of what constitutes “good for you” foods.

      And yet, as I write this I REALLY want a handful of Skittles. 🙂

  3. I’m going to have to check out the Calorie Myth. That’s a lifestyle I think I might be able to support (even if I will have to occasionally cheat with donut)

    1. Hi, Allie! It was definitely eye-opening. Bailor’s training is as an engineer (and a personal trainer) so he approaches the science almost as an outsider. Which, for whatever reason, made the information feel more accessible to me. If you try it, I’d love to know what you think!

  4. I, too, adore all of the blogs you picked, Angela! Additionally, I got really excited when I saw Moriarty in your second book pick, but that was because I was thinking of Liane Moriarty– I LOVE her books– but I have to say, this Moriarty piqued my interest, too!

    1. Hi, Becca! I had a moment of panic when I read your comment and double checked that I spelled the author of book right–luckily I did. Now I want to read Liane, too! So many good books, so little time.

  5. Just when I was feeling kinda “meh” about my blogging influence, you go and mention me and say such sweet things! Yes, I do love me a well-placed “f bomb” and CUPCAKES ❤️❤️😋😂. Thank you, friend!!

    1. Oh good! I’m glad to know you feel the blog love! You deserve all the praise. I always remember for all the people that tell me they like a post there’s a few more that think it, but never say so. Thus, never forget, your influence is exponential! 🙂

  6. Angela, your writing is beautiful – the content (from the heart), as well as the words on the page! I tend to gravitate towards non-fiction, and both of your suggestions sound like books I need to add to my reading list! As a matter of fact, at present, I’m reading another of your suggestions – The Art of Possibility – Love it!! Also love your choice of bloggers….those are my go-to blogs when I need my daily comedic fix!

    1. Thanks so much Allison! I’m delighted you’re reading The Art of Possibility! Maybe you should do a guest post for Lorna, too. At the very least, I definitely want to hear what you think of it. I am sure you have some excellent book recommendation. So many good books, so little time!
      There blog gems are pretty fantastic. 🙂

      1. I’d love to guest post for her. Actually, she was the first blogger I discovered when I joined the Big Up Your Blog community, and I fell in love with her humor! And, I definitely have more than enough book recommendations and favorite blogs! (As you mentioned, more than enough to make it difficult to pick just three) 🙂

Leave a Reply

