3 Books, 3 Blogs With An Historian About Town

Today we have another 3 Books, 3 Blogs.

I was supposed to share this while we were in New York.  Pretend it’s a long weekend, wherever you are!

Hello, everyone! Although your normal lovely host is Lorna, today I’m jumping in to share three of my favourite books and three of my favourite blogs. I am the Historian behind An Historian About Town– I blog about almost anything that strikes my fancy! I happen to read far more than anyone should, both books and blogs, so I feel fairly confident in my ability to make recommendations.

 

At the time of writing, I am looking at a wonderful long weekend- to me, a long weekend is a chance to read. I’ve decided to share my favourite, read-in-one-sitting, can’t-put-down, page-turners to you could read in a weekend (or really a day if I’m being realistic with myself…)

 

16085481.jpg

 

Crazy Rich Asians, Kevin Kwan

 

Crazy Rich Asians is one of those books that is exactly what it sounds like, and that is what makes it so amazing. Throughout CRA, we follow Rachel Chu who meets her boyfriend, Nick Young’s, friends and family in Singapore when they travel for his best friend’s wedding. Turns out that there is a small class ridiculously wealthy families who have more wealth than anyone could imagine, and CRA is your ticket into this simple but complicated, luxurious world filled with the most fascinating cast of characters who keep you hanging on. I read 50-90 books a year, and this is book is just fun, more so than any other book!

 

18623246.jpg

 

The Vintage Girl, Hester Browne

 

Chick lit is one of my favourite ways to relax, and I don’t agree with the poo-poo attitude that a lot of people take towards it. Reading is reading is reading- I can read an Old English text or a history of the Stuart dynasty or a story about a girl who runs a bookshop in London, all of it is reading and a chance to escape! Hester Browne is one of my favourite authors, and I think that she should be far more well-known than she is. The Vintage Girl follows Evie as she cares for a castle in Scotland and everything (and everyone) in it. Although Evie is great fun to spend time with, you will feel her frustration and confusion and excitement along with her- Hester’s ability to bring you right into the story is what makes her such a strong author. No, there’s no murder or missing person or anything so dramatic, but it’s coziness is what makes it so appealing!

 

12868761.jpg

 

Let’s Pretend This Never Happened, Jenny Lawson

 

If you have ever wondered what it would be like to get your arm stuck in cow’s vagina, Let’s Pretend This Never Happened is for you! Even if you haven’t, LPTNH is the perfect balance of humour, honesty, and general relatability. Jenny’s open discussion of her mental health struggles are refreshing, and this memoir does show that laughter and happiness can be waiting everywhere. While many popular memoirs are from celebrities that you may very well not have anything in common with, Jenny is just as weird and confused as the rest of us- sure, you haven’t stapled a note to your husband onto your cat but you’ve probably left your pile of freshly cleaned towels in a pile, too.

 

…………….

 

I’m a lifestyle blogger, so I tend to read all sorts of blogs. I’m usually willing to give a blog at least a few posts to see if I will like it or not, and at last count, I think I have 400+ blogs in my WordPress reader! These are some of my favourite bloggers from around the web that I think belong in everyone’s reading list.

 

Lady Sarah’s London

 

Sarah’s style blog based in London is essentially 90% of my personal style aesthetic. She has a simple but elegant wardrobe, and posts countless reviews and pieces of advice. These are truly valuable for the style connoisseur, as if you are looking to spend several hundred dollars on a luxury item you will have to do your research before.  Mix in her travel advice and London recommendations, and this is a fantastic blog to spend an hour with throughout your week!

 

The Secret Knowledge of Spaces

 

Suzie’s blog is a fascinating mix of travel, architecture, and history, and the historian in me loves to dive into one of her posts and spend a few minutes immersing myself in one of her spotlights on a building or neighbourhood. I find that some architecture blogs can get lost in the technicalities of the form, but Suzie’s voice is so conversational and engaging that you feel like you’ve learned something and visited somewhere new without having to do anything. She also lived in Seattle, and I adore her posts from different spots around Washington!

 

The Chloe Douglas Blog

 

Chloe’s blog is a lifestyle blog that heavily focuses on book reviews! I follow several review blogs but Chloe strikes the perfect balance of tons of books while still showing that she does actually live a life other than reading. What makes this such a worthwhile blog to follow is the huge of genres that she reviews- chick lit, fiction, mystery, thriller, suspense,  historical fiction, it’s all there. Many review blogs gravitate to one genre or another, but that’s not how I operate. (She also shares my love of Christmas puzzles, so I may be biased…)

 

Thank you for having me, Lorna! I hope that you all have enjoyed my recommendations!

Follow An Historian About Town on:

Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Pinterest | Bloglovin’

Thanks, Jessica!

Have you read any of Jessica’s picks?  

11 thoughts on “3 Books, 3 Blogs With An Historian About Town

  1. I love Jenny Lawson. Let’s Pretend this Never Happened is hands-down one of the funniest books I’ve ever read. After reading only twenty pages or so, my husband was like, “Are you ok? What is happening in that book?!” because I’d burst into giggles numerous times.

Leave a Reply

