Not So Random Connections

One of the things I love about blogging, maybe the first thing I love about blogging, are the connections we make with the people behind the blogs.

I love the randomness, the silly and the serious, the excuses to connect.  I’m answering these random questions because Becca and Gloria wanted to know my answers to them.

And because I like random questions.  I think random questions help people think about/work out/put words to the not-so-random things in life.

And so, questions from The Married Cat Lady:

Which Hogwarts house would you be sorted into? (Here’s a link, if you need it.)

Hufflepuff.  Still haven’t finished the books.  Gotta work on that.

Are you a cat person or a dog person? (Or neither?!)

I grew up with both.  I like non-yappy dogs and tropical fish.

Backstreet Boys or *Nysnc?     

If I must declare, New Kids On The Block.

What is your favorite TV show to binge watch?  

When I was pregnant with Isla I got really emotionally invested in Real Housewives of New York.  Then when she was born, I was all about Nurse Jackie and Friday Night Dinners.  Now, Neil and I are watching Ozark, and Child Genius, and Twin Peaks.  And I would probably be into a bunch more if I could relax more these days.

Describe yourself in 3 words.  

A little cracked.

What is the last thing you ate?

Wintergreen Altoids

Who would you pick to be your celebrity BFF?

Ask my best friends.

What is the last picture you took on your phone?

In the interest of honesty in blogging, it’s this:

IMG_1777

 

We were painting today, and Isla says: Put some glitter in your heart, Mumma.  And then take a picture.

Wise child?!

P.S. Isla is the glitter in my heart.

And from We Are Holistic

When are you at your happiest?  

On a road-trip with Neil and Isla.  In a bookstore.  With friends.  Heading foodwards.

If you were to walk a mile in someone else’s shoes, whose would it be?  

I prefer to drive, and I’d rather be myself.

What’s usually the first thing to pop into your mind when you wake up each morning?

Isla.  Glasses.  Coffee.

What’s your biggest regret in life? If any!  

A few years ago, I submitted the wrong piece of writing to somewhere I thought I needed to be.

If you were to be reincarnated as an animal, what animal would you like to be and why?

Batman.

What’s your favourite smell and why?  

The seconds after you blow out candles.  The change of seasons.  And my childhood.

Are you a slow writer or can you whip up in a good post in a couple of hours?  

Fast writer, slow typer.  And my brain works differently when I dictate stuff, so I don’t do it often.

What household chore do you hate doing most? Or is there one you actually enjoy? 

I find most chores inaccessible, but I would do it all if I could.  Washing dishes gives me time to think if I can drive under the sink.

What colour dominates your wardrobe?  

Purple.  And orange, apparently.

What’s your laugh type? Quiet & Polite, loud & boisterous, more of a chuckle, or a musical ha ha ha ha 

I recently had dinner with my best friend since I was 5.  She says her Dad remembers me as ‘the one with the cute laugh’.

Well.

That’s true.

My husband thinks I have a dirty laugh.  And I love when I can laugh out loud.

Most people recognise me by all my laughs.  And by my hair.

Are you a romantic?

 I was.  And then I got married.  As much as I love love and life and country music, love is not a country song.

My questions:

  1. What are you reading right now?

2.  How did you meet your best friends?

3.  What makes you laugh?

4. What’s your favourite city?

5.  Who do you miss right now?

6.  What’s your coffee order?

7.  What’s your favourite alcohol/cocktail?

8.  Do you think social media is still social?

9.  What do you do on the weekend?

10. What’s your favourite quote?

If you feel like it, share your answers in the comments, or if you are wordy like me, link me in your answers so I can read them! 

 

 

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Not So Random Connections

  1. 7. What’s your favourite alcohol/cocktail? I love Old Fashioneds. Drinking one makes me feel like a sophisticated old man who owns many leather-bound books and an apartment that smells of rich mahogany… Oh wait, I guess one makes me feel like Ron Burgundy. Still works!

  2. I’m saving these because I know I’m going to have a day in the near future where I don’t know what else to write, so random questions will be my go to! I love reading these things! And yes, NKOTB for life. ❤

  3. I appreciate that you are a fellow Hufflepuff, but you gotta finish the books!!!! 🙀

    I also really loved your answer, “a little cracked.” ❤️

    And to answer a couple of yours: I just started reading Brain on Fire; I miss my hubs, who got called in to work early tonight; and I recently transitioned to black coffee from cream and sugar!

Leave a Reply

