Like It Is

Seven years is a long time.

Since my last post, people have been congratulating me on 7 years here.  While I appreciate it, I haven’t really done much with it in all those years.

OK, so I got married and had a kid.  There’s that.  But in terms of ass on seat, tell stories, and keep doing it, there’s been not a lot.

I haven’t really done what I originally set out to do, which was connect with other people and talk about access and expat issues and try not to be too drunk while doing so.

There’s been a lot of procrastinating and writing about not writing.

While on THE TRIP, I actually thought a lot about the blog and where I wanted to go with it.  Since Italy isn’t an option, I’ve come up with the following changes/plans:

I’m going to do more actual writing.

I’m going to be as real as I promised I would be.  I’m going to fly my weird little third-culture freak flag.

I’m gonna talk more about being disabled and a mother, and all the times when I am a disabled mother.

I will swear when necessary.

I will tell it like it is.

I also wanna talk about books and coffee and other stuff I love.

And I’ll be opening up the blog to more guest writers who might also want to talk about all that stuff, too.

And in the next couple weeks, I’ll be starting a newsletter with some stuff that doesn’t appear on the blog.  And some stuff that does.  So, there’s stuff.

While I’m at next week’s posts will include:  More words on the trip, and Jet Lag Sucks But You Don’t.

Stay tuned.

 

Screen Shot 2017-08-24 at 15.57.50
Just one of the coffees I had in New York.

 

 

 

 

19 thoughts on “Like It Is

  1. It’s funny how a trip (that allows you time away from your blog) so often gives you more inspiration and direction!! I’m excited to see where Gin & Lemonade is headed- every once in a while, a big shake up on your blog is just what is ordered 🙂 Also, jet lag is the worst.

  2. Welcome home! Your writing makes me grin. So if you’re doing more of that, then I’m absolutely on board. You do have a unique and interesting perspective. One of the things I love the most is your “writer’s voice.” You do tell it like it is, but many claim that. The difference in your writing is, in my opinion, you’re not looking for approval, or even agreement. You’re offering a point of view, a perspective, unvarnished by a need to please, and therefore unfettered by convention. When I read what you write, I feel the person behind the words. Obviously, we’ve never met. But if we did, I’d like to think we’d mostly talk about life, books, what we love, family, parenting, issues . . . essentially everything big, and nothing small like the weather. We’d probably laugh, because you’re funny, and I like to laugh. So, please: more you.

  3. Here’s to all the future coffees and writing! I really enjoy reading your blog and can’t wait to hear more. From a fellow wheeler, this disability stuff needs to be out there (not just from you!)
    I’d love to be your guest sometime and will try out drinking you in coffee, although I’m afraid I’m on the decaf. Pathetic, I know!

  4. I love your reflections, and I think we can all benefit from this once-in-awhile. I just started blogging last April, and I still feel like I’m on a journey where I don’t know exactly where I’m going, what my purpose is, or what I want to accomplish. I think your post is a good reminder to sit and think about what is important to us in our present lives and to set out and live whatever that may be. Wonderful post and I wish you well on your ‘new’ journey!

  5. I’m looking forward to your future posts! I really want to try to be more real on my blog as well. Sometimes I still hold back a little bit, but I’m getting better about it.
    And yes, all the swears. I love swears.

  6. How exciting! I’m really looking forward to reading your blog! I love your style of writing in just the small portion you wrote here, and am looking forward to following along for future posts! I also know what it’s like to put writing off – I began a blog 6 years ago and it laid dormant for a while. In that ‘while’ I felt guilty for not writing; not just because I let my readers down, but I didn’t realize how much of a release it was to put my thoughts down in writing. I wish you the best of luck in your journey!

Leave a Reply

