Where Everybody Knows Your Name?

Hello!

Picture it: A relaxed but working writer on her laptop in a coffeeshop.  Sipping coffee and eating a complicated but delicious sandwich.  Inspired by the coffee shop music of various conversations punctuated by random laughter and maybe some tears.  Inspired by her coffee and her complicated but delicious sandwich.

Setting the scene out the window.  Or at the next table.

Happily caffeinated and writing words.

That writer WAS NOT me.

I know I said I’d be blogging throughout the trip, but I left my laptop charger in the car in at the airport. A new one from there was money better spent on dinosaurs and baseball. And penguin encounters.

And so, no acts of public writing for me, but we did have some days.  You guys.  All the days with all the emotions in them.

I shall try to scribe all of the New York feelings while sitting here at my kitchen table on Skye.

I’ll be using my new collection of marble composition books and No. 2 pencils.  One of the many gifts bestowed upon me and my family from our family over there.

There isn’t enough to repay all of those kindnesses.  I do promise to be better with Skype and letters and our home is always open.  You might have to move some books to find a place to park your ass, but there will always be a place for you here.

And for those of you haven’t had a drink with me recently, laughed and cried with me, hugged me or helped me fix my floofy hair, thanks to you, too.

August 10 marked 7 years of Gin & Lemonade. I appreciate all of you groovy people who read my as yet kind of unfocused ramblings, whether we met when we were 5 or 12, 19 or 33, or if we haven’t yet.

Thank you for 7 years, or more.  And here’s to the next 100.

More travel stories coming up, but here’s some of my favourite travel photos, put together.  Spot the difference.

20863692_10155129953624412_76545650396789396_o

It was us, in some kind of alternate Universe. Which is maybe a metaphor for the trip as a whole.

We still love you, New York.

 

 

32 thoughts on “Where Everybody Knows Your Name?

  1. I’ve just stumbled onto your blog for the first time, and now I’m reading some of your other posts, like “10 Things I’ve Learned in 7 Years of Blogging.” 7 years is definitely something to be proud of. Congrats!

    Also, now I’ve got that song stuck in my head…

    1. Thank you Bria (lovely name, btw). And you’re welcome for the song, ha! Realised last night that I made a Cheers/Boston reference on an NY post. Not too smart. But I knew where I was going!

  2. Congratulations on 7 years! NYC is fabulous. Whenever I can, I enjoy taking a break, relaxing in a coffee shop and just enjoying the day.

  3. Wow congrats on 7 years! And perhaps forgetting your charger was a blessing in disguise. I do know the feeling of wanting to get work done while traveling. However perhaps it was better that you could enjoy your time.

  4. Congratulations on your 7-year-blog-anniversary (if that is even a word, lol?)! I can’t believe you’ve been running this for so long! That is really inspiring. I can barely run a blog and post actively for 1 month haha. How do you find the time!? 7 years is something to be proud of – and hopefully this will give me a kick in the butt and make me want to continue with mine.

  5. Lovely blog post! Good to find you, although I think your blog is familiar. I may have found you before, back in the day a few years ago? Anyway, lovely to find you again if that’s the case. I studied in Edinburgh and love the place. Hope you’re enjoying Skye! 😀

Leave a Reply

