Dreaming of Breakfast Bagels

The last time the fam and I went to NY, Isla turned six months old on the trip.  One of my ‘things’ has been to push for plan another trip before she goes to ‘big school’ in August.

19875398_10155009032069412_3604970900259343133_n
Already discussing all the books she wants to buy on THE TRIP.

Well.  We tried to get the two weeks before school starts, but that didn’t happen.  And so.  Missing her first week of big school to hang out with her Nana and ‘Mumma’s people’ who don’t actually live on the phone and the computer.  Who knew?

My factor-50 husband will probably melt in the heat but I don’t care.  We are all very excited.

The thing is this.  I love New York.  And I’m quite fond of all the people who knew me before I was 12.  And people I met in my 20s who might as well have.

It’s gonna be weird for me to do summer on Long Island stuff with Isla.

This time my Mom is the Nana, Isla’s the kid, and my grandparents aren’t there.  I’ll try not to cry, but I can’t promise anything.

So, in the next few weeks, the blog will be trip plans.  And stuff.

Already planning my plane reading, too.  And that’s where you guys come in.  This week’s 3 Books, 3 Blogs is where you recommend stuff to me!

What should I read on the plane?

And who else do you know who blogs about trying to live in two places at once?  Or something.

Next week, I’ll return the favor.

 

 

 

 

39 thoughts on “Dreaming of Breakfast Bagels

  1. Here goes with 3 books – all very different – Mussolinis Island by Sarah Day, The One by John Marrs and Remarkable Creatures by Tracy Chevalier. Read them all in the last year and enjoyed them! 3 blogs – I have so many favourites……try The Diary of a Muslim Girl, Chris The Story Reading Ape and A Life Well Red.
    Have a fab trip xxx

  2. Do you like David Mitchell, and, if so, have you read The Bone Clocks? I’d recommend that one. Also, YOU ARE GOING TO GET TO EAT REAL BAGELS!!!!! *Sighs with envy*. If you haven’t discovered her yet, I love Lauren Beukes.

          1. Naah. Bringing back bagels is difficult. It makes your entire luggage smell like garlic and onions. You will have to eat all the bagels so i can live vicariously through you.

  3. Ollie turned six months old on his first trip too. Kind of crazy! Umm books. I’ll try to think of some. I’m not 100% awake yet, I’ll raid my Goodreads and shoot you some suggestions. 🙂

  4. Sounds like it will be a great trip
    And it’s so great that Isla will get to experience your other life. I’m with you in the trying to live in two places. As hard as it is we get to homes so we are pretty dam lucky xx

  5. Where’d Ya Go, Bernadette by Maria Semple!! Such a fantastic piece of fiction 😀 Also, the Notorious RBG by Irin Carmon is short but packs a punch (much like RBG)! Have a wonderful trip and share pictures when you are back!!

    1. Already read Bernadette! And I’ve had my eye one RBG, so thanks for the reminder. PS. I should only share pictures?! Didn’t think I was that bad. 😉

  6. How about a brand new title? Ashley Shelby wrote SOUTH POLE STATION about a bunch of kinda cooky people who live and work in the South Pole. Ashley’s a friend/mentor of mine and she’s funny and well-read. I’m looking forward to reading more of it and thought you might like it, too!

  7. I’ve got a couple book recommendations. If you like WWII stories, you’ve got to read “All the Light We Cannot See.” It was awesome! If you like thrillers, try “The Luckiest Girl Alive.” It was very good!

  8. Have you read “The Book Thief” by Marcus Zuzack, Graeme Simsion: “The Rosie Project” and “The Rosie Process”. They’re hilarious. Might get in trouble for laughing on the plane. Otherwise, I’m doing a better of buying books, rather than reading them this year.
    xx Rowena

          1. No, I haven’t and thanks for the tip. I’ll go and find them. I have an interesting cousin called Edward so it will really bring these books to life. He was born with an extra chromosome but has married and has kids to his credit. It hasnb’t been an easy road for him.

Leave a Reply

