3 Books, 3 Blogs

19260700_10154957281349412_2580968320641547564_n
My favourite photo of the week.

I’ve wanted to start a monthly round-up thing of stuff I loved/internet finds/blogs to follow, etc.

Name ideas for this feature have included:

Lorna’s Love List (I think that sounds a bit rude, though.  And not sarcastic rude.)

Crap I Would Actually Buy (Maybe, if I remember to click the buttons.  And companies ship to the UK.  And while I’m at it Book of The Month, why aren’t you worldwide?)

People I Want To Drink With –  See also: Where’s my teleporter?  Damn oceans.  Damn canceled ferries.  Mainland, I miss you.

This Is Me, Throwing Books At You.

Why Does Pact Coffee Keep Sending Us Fruit & Nut?  It is lovely, people.  And we have changed selections, but obviously not often enough.

Decor Ideas I’ll Never Get Around To, BUT LOOK.  Because it’s pretty.  But my husband has commandeered the office.  I’m working on it.  But for now, I’m writing in the kitchen, hi.

And so, let’s start with the books.  Most of my reading lately has been through Netgalley.  Thanks, Netgalley.  If these aren’t out yet, you should totally pre-order them.

Then She Was Gone, Lisa Jewell –

I LOVED this. Around 80% into the book, I actually said ‘Wow” This was actually my first Lisa Jewell read, but I’ve stock-piled some of them, and I’ll be binging now.

We Are Never Meeting In Real Life, Samantha Irby

It made me laugh and cry and I might have ignored my kid so I could finish reading it. Ten stars.

Midnight At The Bright Ideas Bookstore, Matthew Sullivan

Loved this! 10 stars! Everything I like in a book. A bookshop, quirky characters, random family, a little mystery. Perfect read! Will be buying this to read quotes aloud to my husband, and maybe another copy to throw at my friends. READ THIS! My only question is will there be more Bright Ideas books?

Read those books.

And here are (some) People I’d Like To Drink With:

Caitlin at Broadside is doing a European trip.  I liked this post on Berlin.  I am impaitently waiting for her write-up on Croatia.  We’ve agreed to meet up somewhere in the world and have another drink before Isla goes to University!

Beth at The Beth Next Door –  Because she’s kinda like my new favourite person.  And our husbands look scarily alike!

Nicole at An Entertaining Mess – Because we are loooong overdue to be in the same room.

Read those blogs.

P. S. When I grow up and move into our home office (looking at you Neil) I want it to look like this.

Other random crap:

In the writing of this post, I’ve decided to make it a weekly feature called ‘3 Books, 3 Blogs.’  Stay tuned for one of those fancy linked-up image things that always relax me when I see them on other people’s blogs, but I can’t be bothered to do for here.

Hi.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

38 thoughts on “3 Books, 3 Blogs

  1. Oh you are the sweetest! And you are my new favorite person as well, I also wish we could have a drink together because that would be amazing!! I’m adding your books to my “need to read list” because I’m guessing I will like them quite a bit. 🙂

  2. Ooh, I love this post! I’ve tried to do recommendations posts like this, only I’m behind on my book reading and blog reading, But I’m following the blogs you mentioned in hopes of remedying that.

    Also, thank you for mentioning my blog. 🙂 We so need to be in the same room! And our kids need to have a play date.

  3. June has been my chick lit month!! I’ve read four in a series by Meg Cabot (the Boy series) and a few others. I also read a fast YA trilogy- not typically my favourite genre but it was time travelers in London! I really hit my reading stride in the summer 😊

  4. Ooh I like this idea. 3 books, 3 blogs. I’ll look out for these future posts. Oh and that office is so beautiful. So clean & light 👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻

  5. Nice feature; love the title too. Three Books, Three Blogs. Very good idea that. Must check those books out too although my TBR list is growing alarmingly at present!!

  6. Oooo, love the sound of 3B3B! I’m currently failing at reading for the most part – I finished a friend’s autobiography a month or two ago (“So LA – A Hollywood Memoir”) and have about a bazillion in my TBR pile. Some of my top picks that I plan to dive into shortly are – the Guardian Trilogy by Shelley Wilson, The Cinder Spires series by Jim Butcher, and Neil Gaiman’s Norse Mythology.

Leave a Reply

