25 Things About Me

  1. I was born in Dallas, TX
  2. I grew half-way up on Long Island, NY.
  3. I wrote my first short story about a family of mice when I was 7.
  4. Purple is a way of life.
  5. I have CP.  It’s not a BFD.  But sometimes it sucks.
  6. I’m 36.  And I’ve recently started to look my age.  It’s kinda neat.

    11230725_10153135345544412_5232835166351226145_n
    This is a picture of me when I wasn’t 36.  I don’t know what was happening on my head.
  7. When I was younger I wanted to act on TV just so I could forget my lines and end up on the blooper reel.
  8. My mouth/mind is more dirty than you think, unless you know me.
  9. I’m a LOUD introvert.
  10. I don’t like Paris in the Spring time.  Or any other time.  But it has given me some stories to tell.
  11. My favourite cities are NYC, Edinburgh, Seattle, Florence, Prague, and Bruges.
  12. I did A LOT of traveling when I was in my 20s.  Some of it was solo.
  13. I’m fluent in Italian-American-New-York-English and sarcasm.  Basically the same thing.
  14. I’m maybe not the country girl I thought I was.
  15. But country is still my first music love.
  16. I once had a saltire painted on my face for St. Andrews day.  At work.  All day.
  17. My spirit fictional characters are: Harriet The Spy, Darlene Conner, Anne Shirley, and any character Jeanine Garafolo has ever played.  And Lucy Ricardo.
  18. I used to be a book snob.  Now, not so much.
  19. I love true-crime documentaries.  And Judge Judy.
  20. I quote movies in regular conversation and most people don’t know what the shit I’m talking about.
  21. I like most people.  But not so much the people who don’t know what the shit I’m talking about.
  22. I’m a narcissistic pig.  Not really.
  23. I would pretty much do anything for my family and friends who are family.  Even the Yankee fans.
  24. I tried to write this list without mentioning Isla and Neil.  But they are my heart.
  25. If I’ve ever asked you how you are or what’s going on in your life, it’s because I actually care and honestly want to know.

 

Your turn.

36 thoughts on “25 Things About Me

  1. How ironic, I live in Dallas now. I also absolutely love traveling solo and I’m getting ready to leave for another trip on Friday. I can’t wait!

  2. I love number 25, I think that is my favourite. I wanted to be an actor when I was young too… and watching blooper reels is one of my fave things to do… lol!

  3. I would say that I am a loud introvert too. I find social situations like large gatherings really awkward and it makes me feel uncomfortable so I am extra loud to disguise that lol x

  4. I did a lot of traveling in my 20s at well. But I didn’t stop, I still continue to travel and this year more than ever really. I don’t think I’ve been home for an entire month since the beginning of the year.

  5. I am still travelling, but as I am getting old, I will be 32 in couple of weeks, I hate travelling solo. Well, maybe hate is a strong word I do not enjoy it as I used to before.

  6. What a cool list! I’ve never been able to put words to it, but I know what you say about starting to look our age. For me, it’s the little laugh lines around my eyes that tell of all of the times I’ve smiled (it’s a lot!) x

  7. I have a friend that works with me who has CP. Everyone adores her; she’s the sweetest and sassiest girl ever. Her CP affects her hands and speech mostly, and she always complains about having to fill cannolis (we work in a bakery). We’ve dubbed her the Cannoli Queen! But I can tell that her hands have gotten stronger since she started working with us. We all love our youngest bakery sister.

  8. “When I was younger I wanted to act on TV just so I could forget my lines and end up on the blooper reel.” This is a genuinely cool thing to wish for!! You could totally still do it!? Just make mini movies with Isla and Neil?

    It is lovely to learn more about you. 😀

      1. Yes thank you! I think we’re back to normal now, although last night was the first time we stayed out late enough to see the lit-up night views.

  9. This post was deep… like, I could read on till the end with a smile on my face and then suddenly I think of “loud introvert” , I scroll up to read one more time.

  10. Well, hello Lorna. I’m a native of Indiana and near your age (35 now but 36 this year) and I’m going to have to get some language lessons from you because I’ve actually never been to New York (but I’m American-born, have visited Italy and the UK and I frequent the land of sarcasm).

  11. I loved your introduction to yourself. It’s so fascinating how rich our lives are when we stop to put a list together. You live abroad now I see.

Leave a Reply

