Coffee and Questions

I’ve been blogging for a long time and you might have noticed I’ve been trying to be more consistent with it.

Since I’ve come off my various hiatuses, I’m curious about why you’ve stuck with me, and other good stuff about you, my groovy readers.

If you would be so groovy, and answer these questions, that would be swell.

1. How long have you been reading my rambles and how did you find me?

2. Are you disabled, a parent, a reader, a writer, a traveller, or a coffee drinker?

3. Are you one of my parents?

4. Are you Neil?

5. Are you an expat, a mover, or a third-culture person?

6. What’s your favourite blog, and what would you like to see more of on mine?

7. If we’ve met, how did we meet? (this could be a lie)

8. What books are you reading at the moment?

Whether this is your first visit, or you’ve been around as long as this blog, thank you.  I appreciate your friendship/support/blunt advice/gentle nudges.

Let’s chat.

rehost20169138a4ce4aa-c4c1-4e46-b09a-035e348d3507
Image from bustle.com
38 thoughts on “Coffee and Questions

  1. Ok, a few answers…
    I found you via the Big Up Your Blog group!
    I am a parent, teacher and writer, and hate coffee! Tea for me!
    I am not one of your parents…. or Neil!
    I am a British Indian!
    I enjoy a lot of blogs!
    Reading a YA Fantasy novel at the moment by Shaun Hume

  2. I’ve only recently found you. Gin being part of your title may have had a little something to do with it. I do love my coffee. I am a writer and a reader, about to crack open the first Lord of the Rings book. I’ve recently finished The Hobbit. My new favorite blog (besides yours, obviously) is Seanologues. It’s funny and touching and the writing is stellar. As for what I’d love to see more of here, I’d say you. I’m always most interested in the person behind the blog and their take on things.

  3. Let’s see. I found you years ago, pre-wedding, pre-Isla, pre-Skye. I don’t remember how, but I do remember being glad I did.

    I don’t classify myself as disabled, though I have a chronic condition that causes some trouble, and some days I can’t function at all. I am a parent of three. A kid in college, a high school freshman, and a third-grader. The third-grader was in diapers when I started my blog. I am a writer, a reader, a zookeeper, a wife, a wanna-be traveler, and a coffee-inhaler.

    I am not one of your parents.

    I am not Neil, though I may have been in another life.

    Not an ex-pat, though if the US doesn’t get its act together soon, I want to be.

    Favorite blog might be The Bloggess or The Middlest Sister. I follow 70 or so, and each of them have their charms. You keep doing what you’re doing. I like what I read here.

    We have never met.

    I am currently reading “The Handmaid’s Tale.”

    1. We should all go to your zoo one of these years! Our house is open to you guys anytime, especially if you can safely smuggle a penguin!

  4. I’ve been reading your blog for quite a long time, from before you and Neil married. Long ago enough that I no longer remember how I found you, but I stumble around a lot. I am a reader, a sometimes writer of blog posts, a coffee drinker, a wish-I-could-travel-morer. I am neither your parent, although I could be, nor am I Neil. I read several blogs and really cannot choose a favorite. I’m between books, trying to catch up with life. I’d like to see more of whatever moves you to post in your blog.

  5. I also found you at Big Up Your Blog Facebook group. Not one of your parents or Neil. I am a fellow blogger and writer. Canadian. Coffee drinker (large cup on desk now). Currently reading a paperback mystery I picked up at library – a cozy. It is a long weekend here in Canada so wanted some light reading. Also reading Cheryl Strayed tiny beautiful things.

  6. 1. A few weeks now, I think, and through the #BUYB Facebook group.

    2. Parent, reader, writer, a wannbe traveller and YES COFFEE!

    3. Don’t believe so, although I was contacted through FB by someone who swears I’m her mom (I’m not).

    4. *consults with the voices in her head* Nope, no one named Neil here.

    5. Does moving from Massachusetts to New Hampshire count?

    6. Too many to name, and I’ve enjoyed your chit-chatty posts.

    7. We met at that cute little cyber coffee shop – I got gin in my cup by mistake, and discovered you had my vodka.

    8. Almost done with “So L.A. – A Hollywood Memoir: Uncensored Tales by the Daughter of a Rock Star & a Pinup Model” by Staci Layne Wilson. Not sure what’s up next on the list – haven’t decided yet.

    1. I found So LA through your Friday share post. And if I was giving awards for these comments you’d get Most Creative for 7. Cranberry for your vodka?

      1. Actually, if I could be a pest and ask for a mix of Newman’s Own Mango Tango and Gorilla Grape, it would be greatly appreciated. Or a chocolate martini – whichever is easiest. And thanks. 😀

  7. I found you at least eight years ago when I was writing a blog about taking care of mom (the title of the blog). Is that possible? Have I really been following for that long?

    Mom has been gone since 2011 and for a while I stepped away from blogging. Now I am back, blogging about full time travels in the U.S. with my husband and Australian Sheperd in our 17-foot casita trailer.

    I enjoy your humor, your openness about disability, your interest in books, your writings about Neil and raising Isla and books. Your style is easy to read, and well crafted.

    I do not have What is classified as a disability but I have a foot injury that keeps me from walking like I love to do. I am grateful for all the years I had walking and hiking and I am sometimes humbled by your writing.

    I love coffee, but can’t drink much of it. I am not one of your parents, nor Neil.
    I have some Scottish ancestors so I like reading about Skye and would love to visit. My favorite blog is The Task at Hand (shore acres) and yours, two completely different blogs. I am now reading The White Tower (about a WWII flyer who parachutes into a Swiss village during the war when his plane is hit. Just so happens it is a town in which he lived in the early 30s and did a lot of climbing.) written about 1945. I still deciding if I like it.

    Continue writing as you do. It is lovely.

    Also love your readers’ comments.

  8. Found you on Big Up Your Blog a couple of weeks ago.
    I am a parent, avid reader, coffee addict, blog writer. love to travel.
    I want to read what you want to write 🙂
    My favourite blog is Appalacianink.net I love her granny witch stories.
    I am reading Dannika Dark’s latest paranormal book Ravenheart, a Crossbreed series.

  9. 1. Found you via Big Up Your blog, but not sure how long ago.
    2. I’m technically disabled, but never think of myself as that. I am a parent, reader & writer though. And I love my tea. Never coffee.
    3. I don’t believe I am.
    4. Only on Tuesdays.
    5. I’m from the south of England, but now live in the north where my accent is forever mocked. That’s about as exciting as my background gets.
    6. I love Eeh Bah Mum. Very funny parenting blog. Oh and just do you. I’d never like to tell people what they should do with their own blog.
    7. We’ve never met! Mores the pity.
    8. Just finished “the Sellout” and have just started Carrie Fisher’s “Postcards From the Edge”

  10. 1. For almost 8 years. I found you over a cup off coffee.
    2. No, yes, yes, no but I’m married to one, not recently, yes
    3. Definitely not!
    4. Yarp
    5. Expat Edinburgher
    6. My favourite blog is this one of course! I would like to see more posts about your upcoming novel.
    7. The penguins conspired to bring us together
    8. Just finished “Alex’s Adventures in Numberland”

  11. 1. How long have you been reading my rambles and how did you find me?

    I’ve been reading your rambles since 2013, I think the first post I read was called What I really meant to say, and it might have been before your wedding. The post about your actual wedding made my eyes leak! I hung around ever since on and off 🙂

    2. Are you disabled, a parent, a reader, a writer, a traveller, or a coffee drinker?

    I’ve a wonky leg thanks to severing my patellar tendon, I’m a writer of sorts and a reader of blogs, and yes, I am a big coffee drinker lol

    3. Are you one of my parents?

    I don’t believe so, unless reincarnation is a thing.

    4. Are you Neil?

    No, not even at the weekends.

    5. Are you an expat, a mover, or a third-culture person?

    No – feck I’m beginning to think I’m really boring!

    6. What’s your favourite blog, and what would you like to see more of on mine?

    I have too many favourites, there little bits of everything for everyone. I just want you to write more, who cares about what, you can make me believe anything.

    7. If we’ve met, how did we meet? (this could be a lie)

    We’ve not, you should probably be quite glad about that lol

    8. What books are you reading at the moment?

    There is no time for reading books sadly, but if I were to sit down I would like to read the Hunger Games books, the whole Terry Pratchett series or the entire Lemony Snickett series 🙂

  12. I’m a new fan as well (by way of Big up Your Blog).
    I’m an: American ex-pat living in Romania with my wife.
    …Retired military surgeon taking a few years to breath and write and travel and tackle an enormous bucket list
    …also an avid reader with a Kindle that’s bursting with too many favorites to list.
    Looking forward to learning more about you here!

  13. 1. How long have you been reading my rambles and how did you find me?
    Just about a month. I found you on the big up your blog group.

    2. Are you disabled, a parent, a reader, a writer, a traveller, or a coffee drinker?
    No, no, yes, ish, sometimes, no (tea please!)

    3. Are you one of my parents? Nope.

    4. Are you Neil? Nope.

    5. Are you an expat, a mover, or a third-culture person?
    Soon to be (moving in two weeks- squee)

    6. What’s your favourite blog, and what would you like to see more of on mine?
    https://fattymccupcakes.wordpress.com/ She makes me laugh so much!
    You’re good already! I’ll keep reading whatever you decide to write.

    7. If we’ve met, how did we meet? (this could be a lie)
    Probably at a party, in the kitchen where we were in the kitchen trying to find tonic to go with the gin.

    8. What books are you reading at the moment?
    I’m just finishing the martian.

  14. Hi! I´m an expat as well a a third-culture person. I´ve ¨moved¨ around a bunch of times around the world working and volunteering. I´d love to connect with you. How long have you been blogging for?

  15. I’ve only just come across your blog and will be back :). I’m a coffee drinking, shabby chic loving non ex pat and look forward to visiting your blog again x

  16. 1. How long have you been reading my rambles and how did you find me? First time and found in blog group.

    2. Are you disabled, a parent, a reader, a writer, a traveller, or a coffee drinker? A coffee drinking parent.

    3. Are you one of my parents? Nope.

    4. Are you Neil? Maybe in a past life?

    5. Are you an expat, a mover, or a third-culture person? Nah.

    6. What’s your favourite blog, and what would you like to see more of on mine? I’d need to catch up on your previous posts first!

    7. If we’ve met, how did we meet? Virtually on FB?

    8. What books are you reading at the moment? Steamy romances with vampires and werewolves 😉

  17. This is old, but I’m super behind on blog subs, so here we are.

    1. How long have you been reading my rambles and how did you find me?
    A really long time. I think you were on ‘Freshly Pressed’ and I liked your post and started following, but it’s been so long I honestly can’t remember.

    2. Are you disabled, a parent, a reader, a writer, a traveller, or a coffee drinker?
    A reader and writer who is also chronically ill / ‘mildly’ disabled (if that’s an appropriate term — my health fluctuates that some days I’m fairly abled and some days I’m really not). But I wasn’t really disabled at all when I started following you. It’s a recent thing.

    3. Are you one of my parents?
    No.

    4. Are you Neil?
    No.

    5. Are you an expat, a mover, or a third-culture person?
    No. I lived in the same house for the first 18 years of my life and I’m now at uni about an hour and a half drive from home. It’s not a big difference.

    6. What’s your favourite blog, and what would you like to see more of on mine?
    I don’t really have a favourite blog because I’m useless at actually keeping up with people.

    7. If we’ve met, how did we meet? (this could be a lie)
    We haven’t.

    8. What books are you reading at the moment?
    I just read Skulduggery Pleasant: Resurrection (Derek Landy) and Our Dark Duet (VE Schwab) and I’m hoping to reread Lady Midnight (Cassandra Clare) so that when I eventually get hold of its sequel, Lord of Shadows, I remember what happens. But I’m also working through a bunch of ARCs that I’ve been neglecting due to uni.

  18. Hey I just started making a blog yesterday (first time need a bunch of advice I bet).
    I followed you follow back?
    1) first visit.
    2)reader writer traveller and sometimes I drink coffee.
    3)Maybe, just kidding no.
    4)Maybe….no I’m not.
    5)Born and raised and live in Canada almost everyone is raised different than there parents now-a-days Just because culture changes so much constantly.
    6)my favorite blog…I haven’t found my favorite yet. It is a toss up between this post and my own post.(not conceded I just watched the show last night and learnt about a fish.)
    7)(This is only a lie if you don’t believe it) Do you remember that person that held the door open for you and then didn’t go inside, waited outside for you and followed you to the store after getting coffee, while you were wearing your white shoes, black shirt, and blue jeans.
    8)I am reading the fourth book Inheritance in the inheritance series>WOW< that literally as I looked online just now found that there is going to be a 5th book and possibly a prequel WOW!!!!SO STOKED!!!
    Also reading Resident Evil II out of and VII book series I believe there are some extra ones and I own a one of them.

    and
    ♥♥♥yes let us chat I like chatting♥♥♥

Leave a Reply

