This Is What We’re Going to Do

And so, I said yesterday  all the days that I want to write more.

This is how I’m going to do it.

Write 500-1,000 words a day.  Fiction or non-fiction.  Story or essay.

Read a book a week.  Doing Book Riot’s Read Harder Challenge to help with this. Although, I really don’t need any help with this one!

Write/Draft one complete short story a week.  From a prompt or my, um, archives.  Open to story sparks, if you’d care to throw them at me.  Might post my efforts here for feedback.

Journal daily.  Not really into the concept of Morning Pages these days.  But we shall see.

Write more snail-mail.  I used to be really big on this.  Freed me up for other writing, and I met some wonderful friends.  Anyone wanna be penpals?

Subscribe to magazines again.  I love mail that isn’t bills.  My favourite magazines have been Lonely Planet Traveller and National Geographic.  What are your favourite magazines?  

And y’know, accountability and all that bullshit  good stuff.  I will mostly report back to Isla, ha!  But I’ll also try to blog here at least three times a week.  More is a bonus and may be a list.

A note on time management.  Isla still takes an afternoon nap.  She’s a good kid.  Words will happen when she sleeps, either in the afternoon or at night.

Let’s see if we can pretend there’s 25 hours in a day.

 

12 thoughts on “This Is What We’re Going to Do

  1. I’d love to be pen pals. One of my goals this year is to write more snail mail.

    Don’t overload yourself with goals. That’s my biggest tip. Sometimes I set so many goals that I goal myself into paralysis.

  2. Through some of my sidework, I got offers for mags on the cheap – so of course I signed up for all the cooking ones 🙂 My favorites are Clean Eating and Food & Wine 🙂 Though Saveur is pretty good too. This is probably not helpful in the grand scheme, but I just figured I’d share 🙂

  3. There’s a post-it note on my desk with three titles scribbled on it. I think they were from one of Chuck Wendig’s flash fiction challenges? But I now can’t remember because I never did anything about it. Anyway, if you want to use them as prompts, feel free:

    – The River’s Mask
    – Future Graveyard
    – Muddy Stars

    I hope you find some nice pen pals 🙂 I would offer, but as I can’t really write by hand these days, I’d just end up typing everything and that seems to defeat the point of the snail mail anyway. I wish I could still handwrite more than a teeny bit at a time. (Yay, enduring wrist injuries… one day. Hopefully.)

Leave a Reply

