Weekend Coffee Share: Furniture Is Annoying

If we were having coffee, I’d say that houses are bigger when they are empty. Furniture is annoying.  Unless we’re talking bookcases or my giant bed.

And we’re not talking about my bed. This is a family blog.  Apparently.

Anyway.  Coffee.  My favourite coffee is medium.  In strength and temperature.  And if I leave it hanging around a few hours, DO NOT MOVE IT.  I’m not finished.  I’ve just been distracted by my kid or a book.

Or I just might be taking a break  to dance in my seat, belt out a song lyric or yell, ‘Fuck! There’s too much furniture in this house.’

But I’m done now.  Back to coffee.  It’s hazelnut.  Or mint.  But the mint depends on when I brush my teeth.

Moving on.

If we were having coffee, I’d say I owe you a letter.  How about L?  Ls are nice.

If we were having coffee, in this house, right now.

You’d see Isla running around.  She does that now.  My feelings on this are so big and mixed that perhaps we should discuss them over a drink that isn’t coffee.

You’d see I’m surrounded by books.   Still and always.  There’s also box that once contained a box of pumpkin poptart-type things.  Thanks, Emily.  I owe you a letter.

Anyway.  These poptart-type-things are delicious, and I’ve already hidden them from my aforementioned kid.  Because mothers should keep something for themselves.  Apparently.

Well.  I was thinking more along the lines of a new laptop.  But breakfast food will do.  For now.  Because bacon.  Or something.

If we were having coffee I’d say I miss you, and I have read that book, and I still miss you.

If we were having coffee, you’d know that Neil just set off the fire alarm frying that aforementioned bacon.

If we were having coffee, I’d say I wanted to start a games night, and a cards night and a book group.

I’d say we should open that bookshop/coffeeshop/artsy place.  Or perhaps hang two shingles in the same place.

If we were having coffee I’d say,’ But enough about me, what about you?’

The link-up for Weekend Coffee Share can be found at: Part-Time Monster.

weekendcoffeeshare

16 thoughts on “Weekend Coffee Share: Furniture Is Annoying

  1. If we were having coffee I’d rather talk about you, your recent move, keeping up with Isla, and hey! Have you ever considered going digital with your books? They take up so much less space and don’t require more damned furniture.

    1. Hey, Carol! I do have a kindle and I listen to audiobooks. I also have double-lined bookcases. Have to go through them and see what I can part with. Might do a trip to the second-hand shop or have a garage sale.

      How are you?

  2. My solution to the clutter crisis is to go on a holiday. I certainly didn’t miss any of it over the last week and was swinging from the rafters in Byron Bay. Yes, I’ve managed to completely over-clutter my head with so much inspiration. Have a great week xx Rowena

  3. We have more furniture than should fit into our house right now, and it’s a bit like a puzzle, especially at holiday time when we have to move things about to put up decorations.

    And I do the same thing with my coffee. 🙂

  4. Books and a bed. Hmmm? Can we add a comfy chair and a good reading lamp? Also, I have been addicted to cinnamon pop tarts for years but I’ve never tried pumpkin. I may have to find some! Thanks for the tip.

  5. The library is hosting a donation event and I’m trying to decide which books to donate. I know I need to clear out some shelves and it’s for a good cause, but…It’s hard!

    Are you a fan of Bill Bryson? I see his new book is out soon.

      1. I just started! 🙂 But I got 25 pages in and was sidetracked by a Christmas gift — an annotated edition of Pride & Prejudice and The Steady Running of the Hour. Did you read that one? The ending made me want to scream, but not in a good way.

  6. I am surprised everyone wants to talk about purging, your books, your life. It’s always easier to tell others to purge their stuff I suppose than to purge your own. Following their suit I will continue…. I recently purged my movie collection. I got rid of over 200 VHS tapes. I have regretted it ever since. I was thinking they took up a lot of space and I could replace them with DVDs (I love the special features that come with them). But here’s the loss: My VHS collection was a much wider, better selection of films than my DVD collection. Within less than a week my family wanted to watch a movie and nothing in our remaining DVD collection struck our fancy.

    And as far as going digital, at least for me, that is not an answer. I have lost thousands of songs when I purged my CD collection in favor of digital. Of course, having the cloud helps, somewhat but it is not a guarantee that your music will follow you everywhere for the rest of your life. Besides, when it comes to books, reading from a screen is far less rewarding than reading from the pages of a well-worn book. The smell, the feel, the turning of pages, it is much more stimulating to the overall experience, at least for me.

    Now that I’ve written a novella that does not respond to your post I must begin a new comment to tell you how I really feel and what I came down here to reply to in the first place!

  7. Oh, yeah, and PS: I got rid of my VHS collection in order to get rid of the 3 8 foot book shelves they were sitting on! LOL

    I really enjoyed your post. It sounds like you have a fun, lively lifestyle and a great sense of humor. I would love to join you for coffee, though I’d request hot cocoa, Hazelnut, Mint, White, it really doesn’t matter as long as it is was warm and sweet. Not a coffee person, it is way too bitter for me but we could still be friends because it’d be safe from me!

    I would love to join a game night, a card night and even begin a Bunco night. I would probably decline the book club just because it is too much of a commitment and a loss of control over what I read and when I read it. Instead I would host a craft day or better yet open a cafe named Coffee, Cocoa and Crafts.

    It was nice to meet you and I hope we talk again soon,

    ☀ Memee

Leave a Reply

