One Sentence Book Reviews

Or, book reviews that are one sentence.  Or one line, depending on your definition of ‘sentence’.  Work with me.

Chicken With Plums – I fell asleep in the middle, and woke up by the end.

Death at La Fenice – The start of my new favourite series.

The Fault in Our Stars – I might have developed a slightly age-inappropriate crush on Augustus Waters.

MWF Seeking BFF: My Yearlong Search For A New Best Friend – An exercise in First-World problems.

On Writing – I highlight library books.

Dotter of Her Father’s Eyes – This one made me want to like Paris again.

Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail – Like Eat, Pray, Love with balls.

Beautiful Creatures – Yes, really.

Rapture – Better aloud.

The Killing – I hated the end, but I had to get there.

Hope: A Tragedy – This one should be a Coen Brothers film.

What was the last book you read?  Can you sum it up in a sentence?

Cover of "On Writing:  A Memoir of the Cr...
Cover of On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft
15 thoughts on “One Sentence Book Reviews

  1. A Storm of Sword – Stopped reading in the middle when I realized that the entire series was all about people w/ no control over their lives, who were miserable, trying to seize power in order to have some control over their own lives and thereby making everyone else miserable in the process.

  2. You’re a natural at this. When I send query letters to literary agents, they request a logline – a one sentence summary of the plot. I fretted over this single sentence for weeks.
    I should have contacted you to write the darn thing! 🙂

    PS – How great is Stephen King’s book On Writing!?!

    1. I was actually thinking of loglines as I wrote this!

      And the funny story with On Writing is I own it, but I’ve moved so much I lost it. So I got it from the library. I must buy another copy. I’m also reading Write To Be Published, by Nicola Morgan. I’d recommend that, too.

      1. Ha! Me too. I know I had a copy of On Writing, but now I can’t find it for the life of me. I’m reading Writing 21st Century Fiction by Donal Maass who is a literary agent. So far, I’ve had a few a-ha moments. I’ll have to check out Write To Be Published. If you haven’t read Bird by Bird by Anne Lamott, you might find it very interesting.

  3. Love your one-sentence book reviews. I just finished ‘Dark Places’ by Gillian Flynn. Not as good as ‘Gone Girl,’ but she’s a great writer. My one sentence review: “Dark book in which I didn’t really like anybody.”

    1. I had issues with Gone Girl, but I’m finding Sharp Objects to be more my thing. Might go on to Dark Places, after I read some other books.

  4. Havent read Wild but wasn’t crazy about Eat, Pray, Love. I really want to read Fault in Our Stars, On Writing. Sarah’s Key was the last book I read, amazingly sad and powerful story about the strength of the human spirit and the persistence of truth.

Leave a Reply

