Who Else Is Me?

And so, (more than) a few days ago, I might have mentioned a new post tomorrow.  Tomorrow is today.  Since my last post, I’ve been trying to get myself a job.  And now I have one.  It’s a temp job, but it’s a mighty nifty one.

I start on Monday.  The journey has been an interesting one.  On the day of my phone interview, I camped by the phone, practicing my phone voice by well, talking to myself.

You know when you’re staring at the phone, and it doesn’t ring?  And you might go on Facebook and feed some red goats and then watch Judge Judy, and it still doesn’t ring.  And you think:  maybe it’s not working?

But it has to be.  On the one day you are expecting a call from someone who isn’t either of your parents, of course it’s working.  And then you check it , just to be sure.  And it ISN’T WORKING?  Yep.  That happened.  And the phone interview happened the next day.

After the interview, I phoned my mother.

‘Hello, it’s me.’

‘Lorna?’

‘Who else is me?’

‘I didn’t recognise your voice.’

‘That’s my work voice.’

‘How nice.’

The phone interview, once it happened, was successful.  The next stage was a (really long) second interview day.  Somewhere between the tech test and the competency-based interview questions, I got stuck in the bathroom, the wheels wedged between the door and the ‘accessible’ stall that actually wasn’t.  I got in, so I got out again, by driving backwards.

The last time I got stuck in a bathroom, I got free beer.  This time, I got a job.  Although, I like to think I got it on my own merits, my skills outside the bathroom.

I’m enjoying my last days of freedom by reading books, writing one and watching daytime TV while I still can.  Of course, yesterday would be the day I realised that Ellen airs here.  I wish I’d known this months ago.  I could have danced through unemployment.

Speaking of being understood, and Ellen, here’s a clip of The Accent Game.  Note what Meryl says about the hat:

Happy Tenuous Link Friday, people!

25 thoughts on “Who Else Is Me?

  1. Ah, customer service. Where you get trapped at a desk all day even thought the company says you need to get up and move around every half hour. When trapped by phones, that never happens. No wonder I gained 35 lbs once we moved to the new office. The restructure made me a dedicated phone person rather than half a day, every day, only on every other week. It’s not so bad, except for the people to act like I’m an idiot for asking for their policy or claim number. Do they think I read minds over the phone? Probably. Have fun with it. Because sometimes it can be fun.

  2. Congratulations on getting out of the bathroom. And your new job – also that 🙂 Thanks for sharing the Ellen clip. We only get Netflix now, and she’s always been a favorite.

  3. Ha. First time on your blog and took me a minute to figure out you’re a wheelchair user – what with getting stuck in the bathroom and all. Congrats on the job. My email is what always fails me when I seem to need it most – and mostly for work. Glad you made it out of the bathroom! Visiting from SITS

Leave a Reply

