Please Stay Tuned

Some of you may remember Coffeegate 2011.  Well, it’s become an annual event.  Earlier this week, I picked up my coffee with my left hand.  And promptly dropped it.  On my computer.  Again.  Maybe it was the weight of my engagement ring.  Or maybe it’s because I am seriously not left-handed.  At all.  Ever.

Anyway, the screen went black and coffee seeped between the keys before I could switch it off and flip it upside down.  I know what to do.  I’m a pro.  Obviously not.

I even tried to pull the battery out.  But it was stuck.  Probably held there by the left-over sugar from last time.  It was then I realised we’d run out of paper-towels, and so I had to use a touristy dish-towel.  It was decidedly non-absorbent and had a touristy poem on it.  Fail.

I then texted Sarge.  Not because I needed help.  But because he needed to know that his future wife is a moron.  He didn’t get the message.  I heard his phone go off in the bedroom.  He was at work.  Maybe he’s a moron sometimes, too.  We’re good for each other.

I updated Facebook on my phone, babbling about how much I need my own working laptop at the moment.  Because I do.  NaNoWriMo is coming up, the OU is online.  And then there’s the job-hunt.  Did I mention I was working on an application when The Dump happened?  I was.

Hemingway is drying out.  Again.   He’s still isn’t speaking to me.  I don’t blame him.  I haven’t been very good to him.  And now I’m going to replace him.

I’ve told Sarge I’m too embarrassed to take Hem anywhere to get fixed.  Again.  Especially not Sarge’s parents’ house.  No one else needs to know I’m a moron.  But now all of you do.  So, hi.

I’m writing this on Sarge’s laptop.  Which does not have a name.  I’m trying not to spend too much time on here.  I feel like a guest.

I’ve managed to read ahead in my counselling course-book and I’ve finished a few library books.  I submitted the application I was working on when The Dump happened.  Offline life is good.  More on that later.

Sarge is going to rescue everything on my hard-drive.  Tomorrow I’m going to smile sweetly and hope the gadget gods honour my insurance.  And I’d like one of these for Christmas.

What should I name the next computer?  I have an idea, but I’d like to hear your thoughts.

I hope to have the new one up and running soon.  Until then, stay tuned and talk amongst yourselves.  The bar is still open.

On my Christmas list!
22 thoughts on “Please Stay Tuned

  1. It’s enough to make you weep isn’t it? I remember the day I came home to find that the ceiling was leaking water all over my desktop. But I don’t think anything beats my husband running over his laptop. I wrote a blog about it (My husband, technotwit) and tries to explain why his computers just won’t cooperate. They *will* take revenge for abuse like that. At least you were insured. And your writing is as good as ever. 🙂

  2. Funny. I’m writing this comment on my phone because my computer died and I had to order a new one. Old one was a lemon (and another fruit too) and died a long slow pathetic and frustrating death. But thankfully not because I spilled coffee on it. I’ve done that before to a keyboard … I don’t allow liquids within three feet of my laptop. Too scary. Good luck getting a new computer

  3. I drink liquids in bottles w/ a screw top when on the computer. This is because my cat keeps trying to lay down across my arms and has a wicked strong tail. He knocks everything over. Even full, 16 oz, heavy-glass glasses.

  4. I’m sorry this happened to you, but it made for a great post!! So funny! Next time keep your coffee on the floor. You’ll have to reach down for it, but it’s much safer to keep it on a whole other level.

  5. I too am sorry about your laptop. I once spilled a full can of Pepsi all over my keyboard. But it wasn’t a laptop keyboard, at least. Although it was at work, and the IT people weren’t happy with me. As for a name for the new laptop, are you keeping with the author theme? Because if you aren’t, I suggest Bubbles.

  6. Perhaps the name for your new laptop should be a word that means defenseless, prone to being treated badly? Maybe? And yes, you very definitely should have one of those for Christmas, although they are showing out of stock right now.

  7. I, too, feel your pain! I still have keys that stick from the last time I dumped a Starbucks Frappuccino into my keyboard. I just recently dropped my mp3 player into the one and only glass of water that was on my desk; it died. I’ve never named my computer before. Now I have to. 😉

  8. That’s the first time I’ve heard anyone name a computer. I like it! Now, what can I call mine??? Red? What’s a famous author associated with red and black? Stendhal? Hmm….

    Too bad about the split coffee. I hope Hemingway can be revived 🙂

  9. My last laptop, Marvin the Paranoid Android, died when I was cleaning gutters at my parents house and asked my Dad to put my laptop out so I could listen to music…he put it directly under where I was working, so got lots of smelly gunk all over him…I sympathize with not wanting to take him anywhere from embarrassment, but I’m sure coffee seems less stupid than gutter gunk!

  10. Oh, Lorna, I’m so sorry about your laptop! In any case, see this as a sign that it was time to get a new one and now with Windows 8 coming out, it’s perfect timing! Or perhaps you’re a Mac woman. Either way, Santa needs to come a little early! The no spill Bodum mug is perfect for coffee addicts who don’t know how to use their left hand. hee hee! 🙂

  11. I’ve had to replace several laptop keyboards, no big deal, except I always hate for the tech guys to see the crumbs lurking under there. I’m afraid one day I’ll discover penicillin crawling up onto the keys.

Leave a Reply

