Write Taller

OK, so.  You know where I mentioned that I made a list of things to do before I turned 30, but this blog is not about that list?  I’m 31 now.  And it still isn’t.  However.

I’ve been thinking about my life.  And where it’s going.  How 31 isn’t exactly what I thought it would be when I was 21.  Or maybe even 25.  Except for the part where I have indeed met a wonderful man who is weird in all the right ways, and who I sometimes think loves me more than I deserve.  I can’t tell you how much I love him.  Because there aren’t enough words.  So, that’s the good part.

But there’s also the part where I thought I’d be a therapist by day and a writer at night.  With my own shingle hanging on the door of my house in the country.  A house that included a husband, who happened to be mine (nearly there), kids (we’ll be working on one of those on the honeymoon.  There, I said it.  Make it so) and a non-yappy medium-sized giant of a dog (my initial dream did not account for allergies.  I’m now thinking a nice tranquil fish tank.  0 to Zen in 3 seconds).    The house would smell of nice things like Yankee Candles and coffee and finger-paint.  But not apple juice, because it makes me barf.

Somewhere between my copy of The Developing Child and The Norton Anthology of English Literature would be copies of my own books.  One of which would be being optioned by Hollywood.

I would nearly drive over the dog’s tail on the way to the phone, an old-fashioned one.  My brother would be on the other end of the line, someone who looked like the best bits of my mother and my father put together and therefore like me.  He’d be calling to take me out for ice-cream, just because.  Like that old commercial.  (OK, that’s pure fantasy.  One that gets me through the day sometimes.)

After ice-cream, we’d go to Dad’s house for dinner and everyone would be waiting there.  We might have pancakes and beer, and then I’d beat everyone at Poker.

I’d sneak my Grandma a draft of my new book.  She’d take off her shoes and put them under the coffee-table before reading it.  She’d speed-read a la Johnny-5.

‘It’s good.  Keep going.  And make me taller,’ she’d say.  And then she’d wink.  With that, I would know I’d won.

Then Sarge (because he’s always been the man of my dreams) would carry our kids, upside-down by their feet, out to our stylish yet big enough mini-van.

And tomorrow, we’d go around again.

Now.  This post was going to be a list of things I want to do to get there.  Things I still haven’t done.  But words are better than bullet-points and lists.   I will get there.

If some things are beyond my reach, I’ll just write in the gaps.

Keep going, yes? (Image: Johnny-Five.com)
23 thoughts on “Write Taller

  1. You’re on your way!

    Last week I came home from work exhausted and stressed and said too much in an email to a friend, which I concluded with, “Sorry to go on. I should really get a goldfish to talk to when I get home.”

    Then I decided I wanted pancakes for dinner, but I also wanted a Mike’s Hard Cranberry and Lemonade and even though there was no one around to know about it, not even a goldfish, I still thought pancakes and alcohol just shouldn’t be done. Now I know it’s just fine.

  2. “If some things are beyond my reach, I’ll just write in the gaps.” This has got to be one of the best lines ever. It deserves to be immortalized. Perhaps on a tee shirt.

  3. “Writing is an exploration. You start from nothing and learn as you go. . . . Writing is like driving at night in the fog. You can only see as far as your headlights, but you can make the whole trip that way. . . . Writing is a socially acceptable form of schizophrenia.” (E. L. Doctorow)
    Consider your ass kicked ;o)

  4. Glad you shared this one on SITS today I just turned 31 and have been trying to make lists for the past few years because I’m very lazy. I love the glimpse into your ideal day and would love to read like Johnny Five. As long as you are enjoying yourself and writing in the gaps you can copy Johnny and say, “I feel alive”!

    Sorry but I had to get that in there 🙂

  5. What a beautiful post! You’re a wonderful writer and I’d love to read more! I especially loved the “write in the gaps” line too. I hope you achieve everything in this beautiful scenario.
    Stopping by via SITS to spread a lil Sharefest love your way x

  6. I recently heard that when you visualize what you want, your goals will draw you to them. So sounds to me like you are well on your way.
    Visiting from SITS; happy Saturday!

Leave a Reply

