Reading Through The Stacks: An Open Apology To My Book Group

Since September has arrived, I figured I’d do another reading update.  I’ve finished seven books since the last round-up post:

Before I Go To Sleep –  I did end up liking this a lot.  I thought about it for awhile after the last page, which I suppose is a good sign.  I’ve had more vivid dreams since I read it, which is an even better sign.  I stayed up late to finish it, which is maybe the best sign.

Dandelion Wine – This was a timely read, for my book group.  I read it an afternoon, which was really three hours.  In those three hours, I went from:  ‘Dude is mowing the lawn AGAIN’ to ‘This is the best book EVAR.’  Each statement was shouted from the bedroom to the office where Sarge was playing a super-geeky board game, online.  Probably against the computer.  Or a 12 year-old genius in Korea.

Man In The Dark – This is my tenth Paul Auster book.  I LOVE his stuff.  Timbuktu, not so much, but still.  I read Man In The Dark in the space between 5 and 8 am, when I couldn’t sleep.  This was perhaps the perfect circumstance to enjoy this book.  And I did.  It’s right up there with Oracle Night as one of my favourites.

The Hand That First Held Mine – I found this claustrophobic and kinda creepy.  Which is saying a lot.  Since I read After You’d Gone on an island, in the rain.

The Tiger’s Wife – This was another book group book.  My choice.  I don’t know why, since I don’t like magical realism or books with not a lot of dialog.  I’m also more a people person, and not so much an animal person.  I chose this because I felt I should read it.  And I wanted to like it more than I did.  PS.  I’m sorry book group people.  PPS.  I should have chosen The Family Fang, which I still have yet to read.

Digging To America – Since I seem to be reading a lot of debut novels, I wantedto get back to my favourite authors.  I loved Saint Maybe and Dinner at The Homesick Restaurant.  And the page in this book where it describes the feeling of living in two places, and therefore not being at home anywhere.  I’d share the exact quote,  but the book is back at the library.  Being able to find the exact quote without putting your shoes on should be Point 1 for owning books.

A Discovery of Witches – This book was an effin’ beast.  (That word truncated for maximum effect.)  I gave it 4 stars, but I read all of the aforementioned books in the middle  of it.  Glad to have read it, more so to have finished it.  And of course I’m waiting for the sequel to become available at the library.

What are you reading at the moment?

If you are part of a book group, what’s your next book?

20 thoughts on “Reading Through The Stacks: An Open Apology To My Book Group

  1. I’m a big fan of Anne Tyler’s books. I recently read The Amateur Marriage and loved it. I’ve never read Digging to America or Dinner at the Homesick Restaurant, so I think I’ll have to put those two on my TBR list. Thanks for mentioning them.

    Right now I’m sort of in the middle of two books: a PG Wodehouse classic and Jane Smiley’s A Thousand Acres.

  2. The only book on your list that I’ve read is “Before I Go To Sleep”, but I’m interested in some of your other recommendations. Love to hear “best book ever!” or such an engrossing read it gets done in a few hours. As for books I’m reading, I have a GoodReads widget on my blog page http://sharechair.wordpress.com/ and I try to keep it up to date. Thanks for this post! Always enjoy reading recommendations!

  3. I’ve recently read a bit of non-fiction ‘Kitchen Confidential’ by Anthony Bourdain, ‘the truth’ about how restaurants are run and his experiences. ‘Impractical Jokes’ by Charlie Pickering, a book about the practical jokes played by the Pickering family as the author was growing up. Pondering wandering back into fiction with a David Mitchell book, still to decide which one. Have you read anything by him you’d recommend? In the mean time, next up will be ‘Driving Over Lemons’, more non-fiction about a guy who moves to a remote bit of Nevada and starts renovating a shack with his wife. I get my Kindle tonight so I am looking forward to getting a stack of books off my PC and on to that. It’s odd, I read so much more since I started using iBooks and the Kindle app on my iPhone.

    1. I wanted to read Bourdain’s stuff, but the library gave me the Polish version. Which was kinda cool, except I can’t read Polish. By the time I switched them, the thrill was gone. But I still want to read them.

      Driving Over Lemons is also on my list.

      As for Mitchell, I plan to re-read Cloud Atlas, but I loved Ghostwritten, his first one. I also want to read Black Swan Green,

  4. I’m not part of a book group, mainly because I don’t have time but also because I have too many books to read as it is 😉 I recently finished “Plugged” by Eoin Colfer which was super interesting and very enjoyable. I also re-read “Good Omens” by Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett which is one of my all-time favourite books, and I’m halfway through “Feast for Crows” by George R R Martin, though it’s been so long since I read any of it that I’ve completely forgotten what’s happening. Oh, and I just started the Odyssey. I did have a reason for that but I can’t remember it. It seemed like a good idea at 1am the other day 😉

  5. I just finished the Irish Wine trilogy by Dick Wimmer which was madcap and fun, and I read Disquiet by Julia Leigh. I have a smutty book I’m reading now, and am waiting on some Cleis antho’s to read & review on Amazon. Not quite sure what I’ll tackle next, tho I need to finish Mr. g by Alan Lightman, and I am partway through Invisible Frontier which is about exploring abandoned places in NYC.

  6. I have added Before I Go to Sleep to my wish list, which is growing far far too long because it seems to take me a long time to get through books these days. It’s that old brain.

  7. Wholeheartedly agree with you on The Tiger’s Wife – it was just okay for me. I loved Before I Go to Sleep and really liked A Discovery of Witches … although it could have been edited down a bit.

  8. I will be one of the people telling you to absolutely read THE FAMILY FANG. Loved it. Currently on a Jonathan Tropper kick, but next up is the new Dennis Lehane.

    1. I think I might read next, after I finish Blackhouse. Where should I start with Jonathan Tropper? I haven’t read any of his stuff. And I’ve only read Lehanne’s Mystic River. Am I missing out?

      1. I’ve only read two Tropper books — loved them both. THIS IS WHERE I LEAVE YOU and his newest ONE LAST THING BEFORE I GO.
        Lehane (totally different) I also discovered thru MYSTIC RIVER, but was even more impressed by THE GIVEN DAY (which is more like historic fiction). Not sure what to expect from the new one. Won it in a Twitter contest.

Leave a Reply

