How To Save Money For A Wedding

As I write this, there are 290 days, 23 hours and 49 minutes to go until Sarge and I stick a hyphen between our last names.  Because this is an equal relationship.

We have been ‘trying to save money for the wedding’ since we got engaged.  Having said that, Sarge recently admitted he’d been carrying around Frodo Bob Ring-Box since before we went to New York, so maybe he’s been saving longer than that.

Without taking a screen-shot of the wedding fund, it’s safe to say there could always be more in there.

In order to cover the to-do list and throw a really good party because we’re only going to do this once, we have come to certain agreements.  Turns out they’re flexible.

No book-buying.  Unless it’s second-hand, for the book group, or a birthday.  This one is mostly for me.  Saying that, if Sarge didn’t collect his own books, we probably wouldn’t need to save for a wedding anyway.  We’ve discussed this.

No take-out.  Unless it’s once a month.  On a weekend.  This one is going pretty well.  This is also the cut-back that will ‘enhance the silhouette’ of my wedding dress.  Because it has one.  And I always thought the idea was not to enhance it.  But I’m wrong.  Apparently.  Go figure.

No movies.  Unless previously owned.  By us.  This one is really just Sarge’s ploy to get me to watch more of his John Waters collection.  Crafty bastard.

No cable TV.  We own, or have borrowed, quite a few series box-sets.  Currently working our way through Arrested Development, which will be followed by Dexter.

Cut down on non-zombie coffee made outside of the house.  This is also mostly mine.  And I’ve been failing at it.  But I may try this frappuccino recipe.

Piggy Bank
Piggy Bank (Photo credit: 401(K) 2012)

No gym memberships.  Sarge has taken his bike out of retirement and I can do laps.  Anywhere.  That also helps with the silhouette.

Do you have any fun money-saving tips?  Other than I should get a job?  Because I’ve been trying.  And really, that’s a money-making tip.  Not the same.  What we’re trying to do is enhance the silhouette of the money we already have.  Or something.   Because there’s only 290 days, 22 hours and 23 minutes to go now.

20 thoughts on “How To Save Money For A Wedding

  1. D’you fancy trying writing book (etc) reviews for a few pennies? I write for a website that pays a very little for reviews, could send you a referral.

  2. I like what you say about the hyphens 😀 I saw an amusing post on Tumblr the other day where they suggested that instead of hyphenating names or dropping one name, we should just squash names together, like shipping names for fictional characters. However, I think after a couple of generations they would get ridiculous.

    1. I’d like to read the article, do you have the link? Sarge already smashes it together, which sounds French. I’m sure that will add another layer of cultural confusion in years to come!

    1. Ads kinda make me twitch. George would, however like to share blog mascotship, (not an actual word), with the Oma. He’ll be on his way back to you next week, after a meeting with my Dad!

  3. Hit the library hard. That may help you through the book withdrawal. And get the hang of really inexpensive recipes. If you aren’t already vegetarian, remove the meat from your diet a couple of days a week. You’ll save a lot.

    1. We are very much carnivores, but I am researching recipes that will entice me to eat veggies. Do you know of any good ones?

      And instead of picking up randoms from the library, I’m actually ordering stuff I want to read. Waiting is interesting, Currently waiting for Shadow of Night, the sequel to the one you didn’t like. :/

      1. My favorite recipes involve cheese. Sarge would not be pleased. But I did a recipe for black bean burgers on my blog, and those are soooo good that you might forget that you’re not eating meat. And no cheese, unless you want it!

      1. Oops..Oh, yah, I did see that. 🙂 How about return plastics and bottles for the deposit? Do they collect a deposit on cans and bottles in Scotland?

  4. You have hit the most important ways to save. Movies, eating out, and using libraries instead of buying books are the easiest ways I know to save money without impacting life too much. They are also the most relatively exorbitant outside experiences that you can replicate on your own if you don’t have to see a movie the same night it is released.

    Good luck, and congratulations.

Leave a Reply

