Blogging Against Disablism Day 2012: This Is How I Roll

Today is Blogging Against Disablism Day, 2012.

I am disabled.  Mostly by society.

I am on wheels.  Everyone should know this by now.  Regular readers, anyone who reads my About page, people I’ve worked with, laughed with, gotten lost with, my parents and the man who loves me.  That’s everyone.

What people may not know is this:  I am totally OK with it.  My CP means that I will never run a marathon.  I may drive one, though.  It means I don’t go to the gym.  I probably should, but I don’t have to.  I can do laps around my house, or push my myself uphill.  Or over cobbles.

I’m never going to walk down the aisle, but  I may get funky new wheels for the occasion.  I don’t care how I get there, I’m more about the the man at the end, and the people there with us.

Yes, CP sometimes sucks.  So do taxes.  Taxes are worse.

Other posts from where I sit:

Yes, I’m The Bride.  Who Are You?

I Don’t Sleep With My Colleagues

No Love In An Elevator

The Art of Patience

21 thoughts on “Blogging Against Disablism Day 2012: This Is How I Roll

  1. I wish I had known this and as I often do, I wish I had kept my post about how my father came to be NotElvis.

    May is also ALS Awareness month and your idea of funky wheels for the wedding reminded me of another bright spirit who . . . well, rolled with it: http://wp.me/p1wS2d-N8 .

  2. Visiting on the BADD tour. Your line “Yes, CP sometimes sucks. So do taxes. Taxes are worse” reminded me of an Australian writer, Dorothy Cottrell (1902-1957), who also used a wheelchair after surviving polio. She said, “Certainly I would like to be able to walk, but if the good fairy of old stories offered me the one gift, the ability to walk would not be the thing I would ask for. More years with my husband than I may normally expect, the ability to write better–a dozen things–would come before it.”
    http://disstud.blogspot.com/2007/07/july-16-dorothy-cottrell-1902-1957.html

    1. Thanks for the comment, Penny. I had never heard of Dorothy. But she was a wise woman. There are a few things I’d like to change in this world, my CP is not one of them.

  3. Disabled you are not – you simply roll through life rather than stumble through it. Your brain works exceptionally well, your heart pumps as it should, you have a man you love and who loves you beside you – that is enough. That is all one could hope for. You are.

      1. great article LKD! TY for the reference! 🙂

        I don’t think education alone would fix *everything* but I do think it would help SO much. I think education, familiarity, understanding, dissolving mystery and fear… that’d go so far toward building a more inclusive, less chauvinistic culture for all of us.

  4. What a great outlook to have! And you’re absolutely right – it doesn’t matter how you get down the aisle so long as the man that you love is waiting for you! And… taxes suck! 🙂

Leave a Reply

