15 Reasons Why Every Day Is World Penguin Day

Today is World Penguin Day.

Sarge loves penguins.  If he had a spirit animal, a brother or a higher power, they would all be penguins.  They are all penguins.

I have only just recently established that he loves me more than penguins.  Here are some reasons why that may be the greatest compliment I could ever receive.

15. When we first started dating, he gave me Death and the Penguin.  He called it Required Reading, and said if I didn’t like it; our relationship wouldn’t get very far.  I gave the book 5 stars.

14. Our travel mascot is called George Bailey-Penguin.  Sarge gave him to me for our first Christmas together, to ‘up your penguin/human ratio.’

13. Our favourite ‘Christmas Elf’ is called MC Penguin, he raps.

12. For Sarge’s birthday, I adopted a penguin from Edinburgh Zoo.  It was like Christmas in March.

11. For another birthday, I got him a bottle of BrewDog’s Tactical Nuclear Penguin.  We haven’t opened it yet.

10. I proposed with pebbles.

9. We made a special trip to the zoo to notify the penguins of our engagement.  They approved.

8. He thinks our wedding registry should be at Penguin Corner.

7. He’s asked if we could rent a penguin to be in the wedding.  But not really, because people who kidnap penguins make him sad.  He does want our 3-foot plastic penguin called Jemima to be involved somehow, though.

6. Our cake-topper will be a butterfly and a penguin and both will most likely make an appearance on the invitations.

5. He loves penguin books and Penguin Books.  Because they’re all penguins.

4. We have a print of 6 penguins lined up on our living room wall.  We call them our parents surrogate grandchildren.

3. When we do have kids, his favourite name for a girl is Penelope Gwyneth.  PenGwyn for short.

2. Sarge finds peace by looking at Edinburgh Zoo’s Penguin Cam.  He is very sad that some of the penguins have been shipped off and that the parade has been cancelled.  But we’ll both be excited when everyone is back in their new digs and everything is back to normal.

1. Sarge aspires to be Scotland’s answer to Belgium’s Mr Penguin.

How are you honouring your favourite penguin today?

Pygoscelis papua English: Gentoo Penguins at E...
Pygoscelis papua English: Gentoo Penguins at Edinburgh Zoo, Scotland. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

.

35 thoughts on “15 Reasons Why Every Day Is World Penguin Day

  1. What a fun list–and it makes me want to go to the zoo and say hi to the penguins. My friend’s husband adores monkeys and they used his monkey statue as a place to put the wedding guest book! It was the perfect touch.

  2. I am so getting your wedding gift from Penguin Corner! I’ve already bookmarked the website. And I volunteer to wear a penguin costume and serve as an usher!

  3. I will honor my favorite penguins by continueing to refuse to watch Mr. Popper’s Penguins as it butchered a beloved book of mine. How does turning a poor family man into a rich businessman who lives in a penthouse honor the book?

      1. I read it from a lovely OLD OLD copy of the book we found in a box of very old hardbacks in my friends basement when we were young. They had been her grandmother’s books.

  4. this is beyond lovely and wonderful!!! I predict a long and loving life for the two of you…and hence radiating out to all those who are fortunate enough to know you!!! and penguins….wow…I remember my son’s letters about watching them from the deck of a ship in antartica…(scientific research of ocean deep core etc…but it was the penguins he loved) penguins are a very special meditation indeed;.
    –bss

      1. He does r and d for deep ocean stuff…even gets to Scotland once or twice…will find out if there is another such trip and see if I can connect you up in Scotland! I just emailed him your blog entry! xoxoxo boie

        1. Cool! That would be great, and we want to do lunch with you guys sometime. Email me your postal address, please and thanks. Lorn xoxo

  5. So cute. Gotta appreciate a man who will proudly admit a fondness for a certain type of animals. One of my male friends has a bit of an obsession with baby animals.
    PenGwyn…my favorite list item. Though Jemima at the wedding is a nice touch, too 🙂

  6. Oh wow. I didn’t know there was such a thing as World Penguin Day. I’ve always been fascinated by penguins because my very first playschool was called “Little Penguins”. I don’t have a favourite animal, but if I did, penguins would be at the top of the list. Speaking of lists, this is a funny one!

  7. Penguins are also one of my all time favorite animals. I have a flying penguin tattoo on my ankle! Who says penguins can’t fly??

Leave a Reply

