How Are You Doing?

I recently read Fifteen Ways To Make Your Blog Irresistible over at Broadside.

I have decided to take each of Caitlin’s points/questions and apply them to my own blog.

Is your blog overly personal? 

I don’t think so.  More personal than I originally had in mind, though.  Without navel-gazing, I would hope.  There is a difference between my blog and my journal.  When I first started, I envisaged a personal public blog, and I think I’m still there.  I planned to write from the perspective of a wheelchair-user who lives in a beautiful, and yet quite inaccessible city.  Because I am, and I do.  But my life is more than that, and so is this blog.  The desire to connect with all kinds of people is still there, though.  And always will be.

Check your spelling, vocabulary and grammar.

I always read a post and then I read it out loud before I hit ‘publish.’

Is this post really worth sharing?  

What, you don’t want to see photos of my cat?  Or my coffee?  You don’t want to hear about my wedding plans?  Or how much I love Sarge?

Sarge is only so-called on this blog, by the way.  I asked him if he wanted me to start using his off-line name and he said he prefers ‘Sarge’ to ‘Giant Nerd.’

You’re being read worldwide — be inclusive.

As in American living in Scotland who happens to be a wheelchair-user, I think I’m doing pretty well on that score.  Might also be worthy of note that I’m Italian and getting married to someone who hates cheese.  That should score me ‘people are people’ points, no?

Is every comment a big thumbs-up?

Aside from the spam, stuff is positive.  Although, someone did think I was too harsh with my hatred of ferrets.  And while I appreciate the likes, I LOVE comments.  Because that leads to discussion.  Don’t be shy.

Are you playing it too safe?

I’ve said some pretty provocative things.  I admitted that grew up thinking Nina Simone was a man, and I once proclaimed my boyfriend-turned-fiancé is better than coffee.

Considering that one of my mother’s cousins found me and then my mother through reading my posts, I think I’m pretty open.

Are you (even occasionally) funny?

I like to laugh.  Mostly at myself.  And share it with others.  And I think the experiences of getting locked in a toilet and being told your head is too big for your passport photo are pretty universal.  And everybody falls off pavements and drives backwards sometimes.  Or is that just me?

Move us!

I hope I do.  If I’m happy, I hope you are, too.  If I’m thinking, I hope you are.  If I’m being a dork, I do hope you would tell me, so we can be dorks together.  Here’s where you tell me I’m too old to be a dork.

Edit, revise, repeat.

Most posts start as written drafts that percolate for a few days. Some of them stew too long.

When I get to posting, I hate formatting that doesn’t look right, so I end up with a bunch of revisions.  Posts take longer to post than to write, sometimes.

Grab us with the first few sentences.

Well, you always want to find out what happens, don’t you?  Did she make it out of the toilet?  I did.

Use paragraphs. 

I’m always promising real paragraphs, because I like to read them myself.

Visuals matter!

I think blogging has made me a better photo-taker.  I wouldn’t think of posting without some show-in-the-tell now, even it’s someone else’s photo, because most people are better at those than me.

Link to other people’s ideas.

I try to do this when fits in with what I’m rambling on about.  Or there’s my blog roll.  Or that one time I linked to the mating rituals of penguins.

The blog format isn’t sexy enough without great content.

For me, this means I need to write more.  In paragraphs.  Even contemplating a blogging schedule and an e-newsletter with extra info/tidbits.

“Voice” matters most.

I could be talking about the Sopranos, Paris, popcorn or losing my phone.  The common thread is me.  Unless I’m quoting someone else.  Or posting a photo of my cat.  Even then I try to make the captions funny.  Funny ha-ha or funny strange, well, that’s open to interpretation.

All that being said, how am I doing?  And how are you doing?

Cuteness via Google
35 thoughts on “How Are You Doing?

  1. Your “voice” sounds just fine. I tell women who feel their blog isn’t “personal” enough… “Post your “girl” schedule. Then compare it to what you are writing now. If you are writing what you are thinking, it’s personal enough for me.”

    I don’t know what this para…paragra…thing is. I think it’s just an excuse to get bloggers to write more. I like your blog cause it makes me smile.

  2. I so agree on paragraphs. There are a couple of blogs that I have stumbled across that have an unappealing theme made worse by holy-wall-of-text-Batman posts. I don’t mind longer posts, but they need to be formatted. Honestly, I think you do pretty well at that.

    If I had to ask myself if each of my posts was worth sharing, I might never, ever post…

  3. Pffft. The interwebs were made for kitties and photos of – of course yours should feature heavily in your blog! 🙂

    I always wondered, how did Sarge earn that nickname (Sarge, not ‘Giant nerd’, that is!)?

  4. I think you’re doing great – after all, I’m still following 😉 I think you do a great job of being inclusive and showing your perspective. I always appreciate seeing things from a different point of view, and you do that quite well, as seen from the western side of the Atlantic.
    I just try to make my blog a pretty place to visit and hope people enjoy it while they’re there.

  5. I think you’re doing just great. As to how I’m doing? Not sure – guess I’ll need to review some of my posts and see if I can figure it out.

  6. Found you at Sits Sharefest, hallo and how do you do 🙂
    I like these “tips”, but they are a mouthful! You seem to be doing well with them though.
    I don’t think I’m funny in my blog – it’s not my strong suit.
    I’m not very personal or shary-like in my blog either. There’s definitely a difference between this and my journal. Especially since I have to consider patient-confidentiality as well.

  7. I love the picture of BOOO at the end and always love visiting your blog. A complete aside, did I mention I will be visiting Edinburgh in September? Katherine is doing her Junior Fall Semester there…. So excited! I came here via SITS even though I feel like I’ve known you for eons!!

    1. Dear Julie,

      Oh, that is cool! Tell Katherine I said congratulations, and let me know if she needs any Scotland tips/help. 🙂 We’ll have to meet up when you are here, and you can surf on our couch, if you wish. 🙂

      And we have known each other for eons, you are one of my best internet friends. Truly.

      Lorna

  8. OMG, being head is too big for your passport photo?! That’s absolutely hilarious, what a strange thing to be told. I’m with you on the being locked in toilets though… happens more often than I would like.

  9. I’m so glad you found me and clicked “follow” because that led me to your blog, and I’m going to read every one of your posts because I like your writing and stories. First up: Locked in Toilet story. I just hope it’s not a Turkish toilet.

    1. Hello! Thank you, I like your stuff too. Looking forward to catching up. It wasn’t Turkish, but I did sleep in a French bathroom once! :/

      1. I’d like to hear the French bathroom story; it sounds intriguing. I’ve run into a few sticky bathroom doors myself, as I’m sure we all have, so I automatically look for a way out beforehand. But you’re in a wheelchair, so that poses extra difficulties. I’ve been there myself a few years ago during a broken-leg episode so have an idea what you go through. No funny stories, though. Thanks for your positive attitude (and thanks for liking my stuff, too).

Leave a Reply

