Reading Through the Stacks: What’s In Your Fridge?

Last year, I declared 100 Books Or Bust.  After semi-regular updates on my progress, I stopped counting.

In the end, I got to the actually painful number 49.  49, I tell you.  These were them.

This year, I have set the same challenge for myself.  But I’m going to be slightly more systematic in posting my progress of reading through the stacks.   The ones in the bedroom, in my office, sometimes on the shelves and even in the fridge.

I’m going to commit to monthly round-up posts and hope to get a rounder number in December.

Here’s January’s tally:

New Finnish Grammar  – A must for anyone interested in WWII, memory/nostalgia, and the concept of home.
The Paris Wife – Made me want to read Hemingway.  The real one, not my computer.  Though I could stand to read more on here, too.
Two for the Dough (Stephanie Plum, #2) – I’m probably going to end up borrowing all of these from a friend.  I needed another long series to get into.
The Yellow-Lighted Bookshop – I read this on the way back from Cambridge.  Beautiful and inspiring.
Three to Get Deadly (Stephanie Plum, #3) – And now I need number #4!
Bossypants – On Goodreads, I put this on my I Caved and also my Laughed Out Loud shelves.  Because I did.  Both.  And I quoted bits to Sarge, so now the book is on his side of the bed.  Funny stuff and good advice.  Thank you, Tina Fey.
And I think I’ve added some new bookstores to my to-visit list after reading about the 20 Most Beautiful Bookstores in the World.
What are you reading?
What should I be reading?
And, dare I ask, what’s in your fridge?
The essentials. Books. Coffee. Gin & Lemonade. My fridge is well-stocked.
24 thoughts on “Reading Through the Stacks: What’s In Your Fridge?

  1. I tend to read in spurts. I’ll read a dozen books in a week, but then might not read anything for a month. I guess I have an unhealthy binge/purge relationship with my reading. Right now I’m reading three, so I guess I’m binging. 🙂

  2. Happy to see you’re reading the Stephanie Plum series. I go into it because its all set pretty much in my back yard and it’s fun to get all the references. I would not recommend seeing the movie however, as I think Catherine Heigl is totally wrong for the part. I think you’ll really enjoy these for light reading.
    XOXO

    1. Funny, they were first recommended to me by another New York friend who now lives in New Jersey.

      And as I’m reading them I keep picturing Sandra Bullock as Stephanie.

  3. You do realize that 100 books is 2 a week, right? But then, you probably read a book at times other than just when you go to bed. I read magazines in the afternoon (on my iPad, and they’re just wonderfful there!) and books when I go to bed – on my Nook. All of which is probably heresy to you, for which I apologize. Result is my books do not go in refrigerator. Leftovers go in my refrigerator. Red wine is not refrigerated.

    1. Yeah, the numbers should be easy. But towards the end of last year, I relied to much on ‘a book a day. I just ran out of days last time. 🙂

  4. I’m reading half a dozen books on writing (but I only count that as one book), Coraline by Neil Gaiman and I just finished Burned by Ellen Hopkins this morning. In case you couldn’t tell, I tend to read more young adult than adult fiction. I’ve got 13 Reasons Why and Miss Pettigrine’s Home for Peculiar Children up next.

    1. Coraline was a great little book! As for books on writing, have you read my list of these?:

      ginlemonade.wordpress.com/2011/12/23/a-writer-reads/

      Hope you find something useful!

  5. I have a gigantic stack of books from the library, and then I went and bought about 10 more at the used bookstore. I can’t set a goal because I am so bad about re-reading old favorites. When I need comfort, a favorite book is like sitting down with an old friend.

  6. I’ve got a non-fiction waiting “The Renaissance Soul”, a cook book “Plats du Jour” froma local restaurant that does seasonal wine country cuisine, a Real Simple and a Martha Stewart magizine. I’ve been reading the Discworld books by Terry Pratchett (lovely, funny fantasty light reading) in order on my kindle, I want to reread Naturally Thin (it didn’t say anything I don’t know about eating well, but its nice to hear it), and I’ve got some decluttering book on my kindle that was free.
    My frig is full of lovely leftovers (sloppy joes, chicken and dumpling casserole) and the makings for great pizza tonight.

  7. Someone sent me a quote from Tina Fey, a prayer about raising a daughter. It made me laugh and tear up, since it was one of those emails to a friend of a friend of a friend, I wasn’t sure it was really a Tina Fey quote. If it is, maybe it’s from Bossypants, and if so, I may just have to read the whole thing.

    I just pulled out Carlos Castaneda’s The Art of Dreaming, . I’d recently picked it up at the Goodwill and yesterday I saw his former wife’s obituary (or she may not have been his wife — all the more intriguing). Seemed like a coincidence I might be interested in following up on.

  8. My plans keep getting interrupted by my local library. I use it quite a bit, putting a list of books on hold that sometimes dribble in (from other libraries in the system) and sometimes arrive in a great heap. And then they have to be read or released back to the wild within a matter of weeks.

    Just picked up Squirrel Seeks Rabbit by David Sedaris from the library last night, so I suppose it will move to the top of the list along with the book of poetry by Sharon Olds that has to go back next week. I’m currently reading and enjoying The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks, which is on Kindle loan.

    All this to say, I am utterly neglecting the books I have bought recently or which were Christmas or birthday gifts… a biography of a 19th/20th century travel writer and photographer, Ellen Degeneres’ latest book, Mudbound (yay, fiction!), and the geology book I just ordered after reading a great review in the L.A. Times, amongst others.

    How’d so much nonfiction get on my list?

    Fridge is a little low as we’re toward the end of the week and the chicken stew is almost gone. Lots of fascinating condiments, almond milk, soda water. The freezer is stuffed with fish and things from my garden that I should use before it’s time to plant again.

  9. I love the Stephanie Plum books but if you want a brilliant experience get them on audio, read by Lorelei King – stunning!!!!!! She does all the voices to perfection 🙂

Leave a Reply

