Shopping On My Shelves

Last April, I condensed my list of Things To Do Before I’m 30 into 29 Resulotions.

Number 10a and 10b on that 16 item list goes something like this:

Read all the books I’ve left unread/people have thrown at me.

Not buy another book for myself until the above item is checked off. (Except The Girl Who Kicked The Hornets’ Nest.)

Well.  I failed.  Not by much, because I had this in mind and not  a lot of money in the bank.  But I failed.  I will say that I bought most of these a LONG time ago.  One or two, I got with a Christmas book voucher from Sarge’s parents.  I know it upped my number of unread books, but it would have been rude not to use it.  And it’s not cool to be rude to your boyfriend’s parents.

Today’s Top Ten List over at The Broke and The Bookish which I found via The Reading Date is:

Top Ten Books I Just HAD To Buy…But Are Still Sitting On My Bookshelf

I thought I’d share mine, and in doing so, show just how grabby-grabby-want-want I am when it comes to books.

In no particular order, I own but haven’t read:

The Bullet Trick.  I bought this as soon as it came out, because I loved The Cutting Room.  Currently three rows back on my middle shelf.

The Reluctant Fundamentalist.  Because it was nominated for the Man Booker Prize.  In 2007.

The Children’s Book.  Because I loved Possession, and only had a mild migraine by the end.

A Thousand Splendid Suns.  Because I was crying by the second page of The Kite Runner.

The Little Book. I bought this for a friend, and then bought myself a copy.  My friend finished it.  Last year.

The Story of Edgar Sawtelle.  I once asked for books ‘I could get lost in.’  Someone on Twitter suggested I try this.  I haven’t.  Yet.

Snow.  I bought this because I thought it was something else.

The Piano Teacher.  This was a second-hand shop find.

If On A Winter’s Night A Traveller.  This wins a longevity prize, having followed my around for ten years.

The Selected Works of T.S Spivet.  And this is a relative newbie, only waiting since Christmas.

I’ll read through this list after I finish The Yiddish Policemen’s Union, my 15th book of the year, previously 11th on this list!

14 thoughts on “Shopping On My Shelves

    1. Haven’t read The Piano Teacher yet, these are all unread, so far. I shall bump it up the list with your suggestion!

      I do want to read The Imperfectionists as well. 🙂

  1. I loved THE CUTTING ROOM. thought I’d be reading Louise Welsh books forever. I was wrong. But I might give THE BULLET TRICK a look. The problem is I wanted to know more about Rilke.

    I brought THE SELECTED WORKS OF T.S. SPIVET home from the library last year and for whatever reason, returned it unread. I think this book requires the reader to be in very loosey-goosey state of mind. I never did get there. : ) But I must say, it is a gorgeous book to look at.

    Same thing with EDGAR SAWTELLE except that someone gave it to me when I was going though a very harrowing time in my life. But I never could get past the first third of the book. I kept thinking I don’t need to read about bad things happening to a gorgeous dog right now. (I don’t KNOW that bad things happened, but I suspect…)

    I like your blog.

  2. A Thousand Splendid Suns is even better than the Kite Runner, in my opinion. Maybe because I’m a woman so I related more. I don’t know. But honestly, i laughed outloud at your excuse for Snow…

  3. I love to read… I should put it on my list to read a few before I hit the big 4-0 in a few months. I’ve been spending too much time blogging! I haven’t read any that are on your list. What is the category that you like to read?
    Visiting from SITS cocktail… after party!

  4. That is an awesome idea. I have about 15 books that I can’t bear to get rid of even though I have no time to read and no room for them. I would love to see the rest of your to do list! (visiting from sits, great post!)

  5. I need to get back into the habit of sitting down and reading a good book myself. I really haven’t done it in awhile. I think I’ve become too lost in modern technolgy. This list seems like a great start though. I hope you get through your list, even after hitting 30! 🙂

Leave a Reply

