Found Poetry

As  a result of sorting out my piles, I have found a bunch of my old poetry.  Most of it is really bad, and should stay in the drawer.

I wrote a lot of poetry as a teenager, trying to find my voice, and wondering who might hear mine.  Even as an eight year-old I wrote of black roses and thunderstorms and violins at midnight.  Getting older didn’t mean I was any less maudlin.  But I did begin to write about people.

OK, make that one person.  Someone I had yet to meet, someone who I thought of and wished well every day.  Someone who I hoped would not move away or meet someone else before we met.  Most of my poems were letters.  To one person.  As Phoebe from Friends liked to say, ‘He’s her Lobster.’  And I admit, I was writing to mine, wondering when he would show up.

And I’m not just saying this, but I was writing to Sarge.  Reading my writing from back then, it’s very us.  Like I really did know him before we met.  I asked him to keep me in books and stay til the end of the movie.  I asked him to make me laugh, trace my scars and to know what my face means when I mean it.  I asked him to love old movies and love me because I’m a sap.

I was going through one of my many ‘keepsake boxes’ and crumpled up under the tickets and programs, I found this:

Speculative Poetry (that’s the real title there)

Lots of things

I want to do

All the while

Waiting for you

Someone who is

More like me

But different enough

So we’ll have well-adjusted kids

Someday

 

Sarge asked what I’d found, and I said, ‘I found you.’

Speculation over.
28 thoughts on “Found Poetry

  1. I love this.

    I also love coming across old items I’ve written. I did when we were cleaning out and preparing for our big move. I considered saving it…maybe even posting on my blog. But I was apparently in a very dark place many moons ago…no need to post the ugliness. It’s nice to see that you found some beauty from your past… 😉

  2. Lorna, this one is a treasure! I think it’s your best post yet! More more! Dig into those boxes! …Now I even want to post one of my box poems…see what you started? But it’s not about me…this is great writing here .. from a great heart.

  3. goodness, i can commiserate. i always wanted to find my lobster 🙂
    my high school poetry is pretty bad, but there were a few gems. and my poetry as a kid was really dark– my 5th grade teacher had to ask my mom if she thought i should get counseling. my mom just laughed at her!

  4. We use the lobster line all the time ’round my house, usually to tease my son. This is so very sweet and wonderful. I’m a little misty, in a good way. 🙂

  5. Great poem about your someday! My poems were more like: “There’s a giant armadillo of which I hear. That roams all of Texas in search of Lone Star Beer….”

  6. I love this it’s so sweet, and so lovely that you’ve met who you were searching for. I do find it quite funny that you were concerned about having well adjusted kids when you were so young though!

    1. Hey Jade!

      Thinking about it, I wrote that particular poem when I was 19, and so not that young!

      Also, I’ve thought about having kids since I was about 5, so it fits! 🙂

Leave a Reply

