100 Books Or Bust: Zombies On Long Island, A Reading Experiment

Steacie Science and Engineering Library at Yor...
Image via Wikipedia

I recently finished Warm Bodies, a post-apocalypse love story in which one of the couple happens to be a zombie with other zombie friends.  I was going to say it’s not my usual, but I’ve decided I don’t have a go-to genre anymore.  I’ll read anything.  If it’s good.  But of course I won’t know if it’s good until I read it.  I can’t say no to anything, really.  Especially a book I can read in one night while Sarge is out watching zombie films.  And so, last week was quite serendipitous.   I also have a thing for first books/debut novels.  And this one was good.  Delicious in fact.

Went to the library last week, and came out with it.  I was quite excited to actually find a book in the library I’d wanted to read, instead of coming home with random finds, that become not-so random.  I believe, like people, certain books find you.  You meet them when you’re supposed to meet them.  While these chance meetings of book-in-hand do nothing for your existing to-read pile, your read/experience pile grows.  And on any random Wednesday you just may meet the person who becomes your new best friend or a book you can add to your favourites list.

Another not-so random book meeting is my current read, Aloft.  It’s always a strange/different experience for me to read a book set on Long Island.  The landmarks are the landmarks of my childhood.  It’s like going back.

The day after I finished Warm Bodies, I started Aloft.  That night I swear I had dreams about zombies wandering a strip-mall on Long Island.  This may or may not have had anything to do with my reading.

Up next: I’m impatiently waiting for the postman to deliver The Help and The Poisonwood Bible.

Try This:  Go to the library and check out a book you wouldn’t normally read, and then go for a coffee and talk to the person at the next table, or anywhere.  You may find your two new favourite things.

12 thoughts on “100 Books Or Bust: Zombies On Long Island, A Reading Experiment

  1. I read so much that when I was in high school I started heading to sections I would normally never consider (spy novels, for example) and would randomly choose something new, just to break out of my usual patterns.

    My partner often turns me onto new books he’s enjoyed (The Cloister Walk, for example) and vice versa. I just finished Keith Richards’ autobiography. It’s a great read!

  2. Try Paddytum by Tricia Heighway! There are things I loved about it and things I wasn’t so keen on, but it’s a debut novel and you never know, you might enjoy it. I don’t know if you can get it online except for from the Hirst Publishing website – it might be on Amazon. Have a look, though 🙂 After all, you said you’d read anything people recommended!

  3. I generally go to my local second hand shop and buy anything whose jacket looks interesting. And I start reading it. often, I end up loving the book and trying to find more books by the same author.

  4. I’ve had to expand my horizons. I tend to find an author I love but then when I’ve read everything that author has written, I need to find another. So now I explore – since I prefer e-books, and the e-book selection from the library is not the greatest, I’ve had to “settle” a few times. Sometimes it’s a good experience, sometimes wonderful, sometimes it just makes me wonder.

  5. I lived there when i was a kid and those were that happiest time of my life. Now we live in CA and let me tell you i miss it back home. anyway i love to read and love love love book involved with long island. i will put this book on my list thanks for sharing. you should try reading once upon a mate its by christine kirchoff or callahans crosstime saloon its by spider robinson. both are really great reads!

  6. “Try This: Go to the library and check out a book you wouldn’t normally read, and then go for a coffee and talk to the person at the next table, or anywhere. You may find your two new favourite things. ”

    this may be the “next big thing” 🙂

  7. As you can tell by the lack of updating my blog, I haven’t had much time for anything these days, including reading. However, a friend from back home told me about a book she’d read…genetically-manipulated apocalypse and all…how could I refuse! I ordered “Oryx and Crake” by Margaret Atwood and I’ve been slowly working my way through it. It’s been fantastic so far…but then…I like that sort of thing… 😉

Leave a Reply

