In Your Ear (Mine, Actually)

Before I decided I couldn’t write with music on, it was on all the time.  My last.fm library, when it loads, is one my list of favourite things.  I’d turn it on before I’d do anything else/procrastinate/check my email/apply for jobs/check Facebook/think about writing.

That was my old routine.

My new one is to have coffee and write and then procrastinate/check my email/apply for jobs/check Facebook/think about writing some more.

Today, I logged into Facebook, and I was tagged in a musical note.  The one where you put your music player on ‘Random’ and list the first 25 songs that play.

I thought, I can do that.  So I did:

1.        Laura Izibor – Shine

2.       Randy Newman – I Miss You

3.       The Offspring – Why Don’t You Get A Job?

4.       Al Green – Let’s Stay Together

5.       Eels —  Mr E’s Beautiful Blues

6.       Paul Simon – Diamonds on the Soles of Her Shoes

7.       R. Kelly – Fiesta

8.       Courtney Pine – Children Hold On

9.       Seal – Crazy

10.   Finger Eleven – Paralyzer

11.   Maroon 5 – Through With You

12.   Billie Holiday –  Night and Day

13.   Silverchair – Leave Me Out

14.   Bill Hicks – A New Flag (Patriotism) – not a song, but so good.

15.   Michael Buble – Home

16.   Johnny Cash – That’s All Over

17.   Perturbazione – Partire Daverro

18.   Sean Paul – We Be Burnin’

19.   Molly Johnson – Another Day

20.   Lonestar – Everything’s Changed

21.   Indigo Girls – World Falls

22.   Death Cab for Cutie – Transatlanticism

23.   Alan Jackson – Gone Country

24.   Camera Obscura – Pen and Notebook

25.   Julie Delpy – Killing Bertha

(Courtesy of my last.fm library)

Funny, some of these aren’t reflective of my favourites.  Some are.  That’s what random means.

What about you?  What are you listening to?

4 thoughts on “In Your Ear (Mine, Actually)

  1. Right now, the Thursday night football game. Earlier today? nothing. Yesterday, the tunes on my iPod, but because I was doing other things, I hear in fits and starts and could never list what’s actually playing. Periodically, something would catch my ear and I’d have to check to see who it was. Oh yah, I remember that! I love those little surprises.

Leave a Reply

