Switch Off to Switch On

Remember when I said I couldn’t write in clutter?  Well, I’ll add to it.  I now believe the people who tell you not to write on a computer connected to the Internet.  Because writing doesn’t happen.  Facebook happens.

I used to say I couldn’t write without music on, either.  Now when music is on, I can’t hear myself.  I get so caught up in the next song, and then the next one, I forget the next word and then they stop altogether.

And so, I’ve started to switch the computer off.  The office is set up with my desk, and Sarge’s desk, our laptops and his printer.  And I write in the living room or kitchen.  In a notebook, a real one with pages and lines.  I’m currently writing in three real notebooks.  I write every day, and my writing day starts when I switch the computer off.  There is now a difference between writing time and typing time.  The longer the computer is off the more there is to type when I switch it back on.

Try it.  The Internet will still be there when you get back.

14 thoughts on “Switch Off to Switch On

  1. I do wonderful writing with music…it just has to be something instrumental. Once the lyrics kick in, bam…it’s all over.

    And are you SUUUUURE the internet will be there when I get back? I’m nervous!

  2. I’ve been doing my composing the words I want to say on a keyboard – typewriter before computer – for so long now, I think better that way than with pen and paper. Music doesn’t interfere, nor does TV as long as I’m not interested in what’s on because I block external sounds. So I rarely turn music on when I’m on the computer because I won’t hear it anyway.

  3. AMEN! I love writing away from the keyboard. Glad to hear it is working for you, dear Lorna. Keep it up and maybe you will learn you can type with the internet up because it becomes less attactive (it does, really!)

    Happy high fives and hugs, hugs, hugs!

    1. Thought you’d like this, somehow. Julie, I wish I could write with you at Dagney’s! Or anywhere with a table and some real coffees! Someday!

  4. I used things like Focused, which are full-screen writing modes so you don’t get distracted 🙂 It also works for me, as does Write or Die. But I love notebooks and I write in them while at school etc, so they’re also good.

    1. Haven’t been on a lot this weekend. I like when I don’t have time to check email, etc. But I am looking forward to posting my next post! Ha!

  5. I agree about the music and internet. I can hardly hear myself think when there is music. So, if at all I want some music, I usually go for Enya or Yanni – which kind of acts like a background. And as for being connected to the internet….I usually write out my ideas on Windows Notepad…and once I am satisfied with the results, I copy it out into the internet.

  6. I have two tvs playing, a cd, the fan overhead, the floor fan, my kitties slumbering and the pad of notebook paper and pencils at hand. If I choose to pick up the pencil, I’ll end uo playing the Sudoku from today’s Washington Post, or start to draw, or doodle. I do write down lists of titles for articles or poems or song lyrics. I work on four to five posts or articles at the same time, and I have my art pad waiting on idle standby, for when the painter in me climbs “out” from the chair. I have to type the stories now, because I always look when I type and it takes up too much precious creative time, to transcribe.

    The pencils are for art and the keyboard for words. That’s the way I balance my urges. And then the kitchen is forever calling my name. 🙂

  7. This is something everybody should do, and you should preferably switch off your cell as well. It seems we are all so afraid we’ll miss something today, that we forget how to focus on what we really like to do. If you prefer your keyboard to the pens and notebooks, or if you, like me, don’t really have a choice, just decide not to check anything else while you’re writing, no facebook, no email, no messenger. If you can’t do it, disconnect from the internet for a while.

Leave a Reply

