My Top Ten Books & Authors

 

Cover of "The Crow Road"
Cover of The Crow Road

 

I’m going to add this as a page, but I also thought it could be a post.   Some links contain spoilers, but they are there if you want to click them!

(Some of) My favourite books:

The Crow Road

by Iain Banks

The Catcher in the Rye

by J.D. Salinger

Great Expectations

by Charles Dickens

The Kite Runner

by Khaled Hosseini

Grace Notes

by Bernard MacLaverty

Emotionally Weird

by Kate Atkinson

American Pastoral

by Philip Roth

Sense and Sensibility

by Jane Austen

Spring Snow

by Yukio Mishima

Oracle Night

byPaul Auster

And I also think The Road should be required reading for everyone.

I’ll quite happily read everything these people write:

Paul Auster, Haruki Murakami, Michael Chabon, Douglas Coupland, Amy Tan, Alice Hoffman, Augusten Burroughs, A.L Kennedy, Isabel Allende and Jonathan Safran Foer.

What are your favourites books?

9 thoughts on “My Top Ten Books & Authors

  1. Catcher was such a fantastic novel. And while I have not yet read The Road, I intend to…the movie was fantastic, and I hear the book is the same. May have to look into some of these others…thanks for the suggestions!

  2. In alphabetical order by author, not a definitive list, ‘cos I change my mind all the time 🙂

    The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy – Douglas Adams
    The Crow Road – Iain Banks
    Lanark – Alasdair Gray
    On the Road – Jack Kerouac
    Death and the Penguin – Andrey Kurkov
    Catch 22 – Joseph Heller
    Spring Snow – Yukio Mishima
    The Wind-up Bird Chronicle – Haruki Murakami
    1984 – George Orwell
    Gormenghast – Mervyn Peake
    The Illumintatus! Trilogy – Robert Shea and Robert Anton Wilson

    Aren’t you impressed I didn’t just cut and paste ‘Death and the Penguin’ 10 times? 😉 xox

    1. I like your list, there. Can we go for coffee and talk about them? Do you have a girlfriend? Because, y’know, I like boys who read. Just sayin’. 😉

  3. My friend had me read ATOWN LIKE ALICE by Neville Shute.. great.
    Also ON THE BEACH by N.SHUTE
    I am now reading EVEN SILENCE HAS AN END by Ingrid Bettencourt about her captivity by the FARC in Columbia.
    Will start THE GIRL WHO PLAYED WITHTHE HORNETS NEST next…
    No end in sight to this reading business..

Leave a Reply

