Frida Kahlo was not a tattoo artist…

It would have been cool if she had been, though.

Anyway, I’m still reading Frida: A Biography of Frida Kahlo, and I’ll probably give it 3 stars on Goodreads.  That means I like it.  I’d like it more if the author got out of the way of the story.  I know there is such a thing as putting things in context.  I appreciate context.  I’ve just now read that Hayden Herrera is an art historian.  This puts her over-long explanations of Frida’s paintings in context for me.  My original thought was that since the paintings she describes are in the book, I can look at them and draw my own conclusions.  There is context, but there is also personal interpretation and imagination.

I love Frida’s letters throughout the book.  Reading them, I read her story.

I ended up buying my own copy of this book.  I could have used Amazon, but Amazon and I are a dangerous partnership.  I can’t actually see the money slipping off the edge of my card, so I somehow think I have more of it to spend.  And three seconds later there are seven books winging their way to my flat.

I go to bookstores for lots of reasons:

  1. As stated in a previous post, browsing in bookstores is very high on the list of things that provide what I call Moments of Zen, or to use fewer words, Zen Moments.
  2. I love real books, and real bookstores.  I want to do what I can to keep them alive.
  3. I must carry whatever I buy home with me.  And bags are only so big.  I end up spending less money, because I run out of room in my bag.  Or Sarge’s bag.  And there are only two handles on the chair to hang bags on.  And so, I only buy what I can shove, sometimes creatively, into whatever I am using to carry them home.  It’s a good thing that I already have most of the books being offered in any given 3 for 2 deal.

I was happy that Frida wasn’t part of any such offer.  I left with only the book I went in for.  But it was hard to find.  First place didn’t have it, in the second place a book-seller asked if Frida Kahlo was a tattoo artist, because their (out-of-stock) copies of the book were listed under Art.  At this point I tried not to laugh.  (I’m not saying tattoos aren’t a kind of art, just not Frida’s kind.)

Third time lucky, I left the third place with one of the two copies that they had left.  Yes, it would have been easier to order it from Amazon.  But I don’t do things the easy way.  And if I hadn’t gone out to find it, I wouldn’t have come back with this story to tell.

3 thoughts on “Frida Kahlo was not a tattoo artist…

Leave a Reply

