Wedding Planning With Skype

Skype Technologies S.A. logo

Skype Technologies S.A. logo (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

And so, my birthday dinner was also what we liked to call the In-laws Summit 2012.  (Trust me, I have done braver things.  Like eat cheese in the presence of my future husband.)

In the spirit of togetherness, Sarge suggested we bring Hemingway to dinner so my mother could tune in via Skype.  We did not.  But it made me laugh thinking about it.  And Sarge got major points with Mom when I mentioned it to her.  She also thinks it’s a good idea for a Skype commercial.  (Contact me for my rates.  Ha!)

While this post is not product-placement, I have been using Skype a lot more since The Engagement.  I showed my mother my ring by flashing it in front of the screen.  She then showed me her not-so new dog, Dolly.  Dolly spends her time eating socks and terrorising Mom’s other dog, Daisy.  But that may be another post.  One that I might call ‘Lorna Has Two Sisters’.

My mother and I have another appointment while she knits a shawl that I may need to camouflage my football-player shoulders in what may turn out to be a strapless wedding dress.

It was Skype and hot beverages on our respective continents  for a three hour conversation with a friend to discuss what she might sing at our reception.  And Benedict Cumberbatch.

I also used a screen to tell one of my bridesmaids in New York that she, along with the others, can choose their own dresses/suits/clown costumes.  Because really, on the day, all I want to do is show up and get married.  And in terms of shopping, I have no desire to recreate the food-poisoning scene in Bridemaids.  Although, I did have bad Chinese food once.  But that may not be another post.

Getting back online, my mother thinks I should take Hemingway dress-shopping so she can suck in her breath at all the right moments.  We shall see.  Or Skype.

In the words of my mother, isn’t technology wonderful?

Have you ever planned an event using Skype?

10 responses to “Wedding Planning With Skype

  1. Fantastic! I’ve never planned an event Skype-ing but when my snowbird parents are in Florida for winter, my children Skype them which absolutely fascinates them !! Go Skype!

  2. You are so wise to stay focused on what is most important – getting married. Planning my wedding via Skype (had such a thing existed so long ago) would have driven me to drink. I had to keep a lot of my plans underground. Family drama!

  3. Isn’t technology great? I haven’t really used Skype for my wedding but I’m emailing with people CONSTANTLY.

  4. Good plans, all in all. :) Good luck with the wedding prep.

  5. No offense to your mother, who I’m sure is perfectly nice – but her dog Daisy really pales in comparison to your ring. But that’s what Skype does to you, I suppose.

Leave a Reply

