Nostalgia And Other Distractions

Judge Judy Sheindlin

Image via Wikipedia

A few weeks ago, Sarge came home from work and caught me doing something.  Something I’ve wanted to keep secret.  I couldn’t stop before he walked into the office.  And he caught me.  I was reading People.com.

I’ve said before that the only time I read gossip magazines is in various waiting rooms.  I suppose that is a fib.  But I’ve never really considered my website viewing actual reading.  I don’t buy gossip magazines.  Except maybe when I’m sick or other times I want to make myself feel better.  Hey, I may not have a job, but at least I don’t have a bad tan job!

I can count on one hand the number of times I’ve come home with a gossip magazine magazine rolled up and hidden at the bottom of my shopping bag, underneath my semi-skimmed milk.  But it has happened.

And while I’m on a roll, I like reality shows.  I still think of them as social experiments, and I watch them for extra insight into how people tick.

I wanted to be on The Real World before it got too stupid and I got too old.  At University I thought about sending in an audition tape.  Like all deadlines back then, I enjoyed the sound it made as it whooshed past me.  There is no evidence of this audition tape, you’ll be grateful to hear.

These days, I watch The X Factor while Sarge is at work.  I watch this ‘singing competition’ for the little girl who used to belt out country songs in her grandparent’s kitchen.  That little girl was me.  She grew up and not-so secretly wants to be on The Amazing Race.

I watch soaps, too.  Well, one.  This is also for reasons of nostalgia.  My most prized project when I was 10 was creating a General Hospital scrapbook.  Don’t ask me why, or even where it is, because I don’t know.  I still watch it, every few years, in my mother’s living room at 3 o’clock in the afternoon.  Followed by Judge Judy, which I watch here is well.  She reminds me of my Nana.  Watching her yell at people makes me happy.  Although it does eat into my writing time, but everything is research.  And I can write about not writing.

(Inspired by yesterday’s Reverb10  prompt.  I didn’t post it because I was distracted by brightly-coloured websites.  Which I’m going to check again.  And then I’ll switch off the computer and write today’s words.)

2 responses to “Nostalgia And Other Distractions

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Nostalgia And Other Distractions « Gin & Lemonade -- Topsy.com

  2. I have had to confess that I recently got hooked on the magazine US (I would buy People but it costs more). My excuse is that it’s such satisfying reading when I don’t feel like thinking. But reality shows? Nah. Well, other than American Idol. General Hospital? When my kids were little I’d watch, then call my sister-in-law and we’d rehash everything we just saw.

Leave a Reply

